Collaboration with CotonTchad for the organization of cotton production in southern Chad

From 1992 to 1994 on behalf of the Company for the Development of Textile Fibers (CFDT). Secondment as Director of Production of Sudanese zone of the ONDR (National Office for the Rural Development). Our role was to support the cotton company, CotonTchad, in the organization and development of cotton production throughout southern Chad.

 

We collaborated with CotonTchad, IRCT (Research Institute for Cotton and Textile Fibers) and the research station of Bebedja (Chad) for the definition of the campaign plans. ONDR was responsible for implementing all the actions to support cotton producers. In particular, the ONDR:

 

  • Designs the modules and manuals for producers' training and organizes trainings for its extension officers and the producers;

  • Collects estimations of surfaces to be planted in cotton and the needs for seeds, fertilizers and other inputs;

  • Supervises the dispatch of inputs by CotonTchad in the villages, their storage and their distribution to producers by the Village Associations and their application in the fields;

  • Organizes the supply of Village Associations for pesticides sprayers and scales. ONDR also organizes the maintenance of these equipment;

  • Supervises the realization of cultivation operations and provide a harvest estimate;

  • Trains Village Associations' staff around management, accounting and organization of cotton purchases;

  • Supervises and provides logistical support to purchasing campaigns of raw cotton.

marché autogéré coton
Marché coton autogéré

Organization of cotton production:

The Sudanese zone of ONDR covers all the southern of Chad, from Léré on the border with Cameroon in the West, to Kyabé on the border with Sudan in the East. To support the farmers over this large area, the Production Department had a team of 400 technicians: head of area, trainers, agricultural advisers and supervisors.

 

These extension officers collected the surfaces that farmers intended to plant with cotton, in collaboration with Village Associations (AV). These data were transmitted to CotonTchad and served as a basis to establish campaign plans: estimate of area planted with cotton by AV, program for the distribution of seeds, fertilizers and pesticides.

 

Before the beginning of the works in the fields, these technicians monitored the supply in seeds, fertilizers and other inputs by CotonTchad, checked the availability of sprayers and organized their maintenance. They measured the surface of each cotton plots and supervised the agricultural operations.

 

Trainings were organized to explain Good Agricultural Practices and modifications of the technical itinerary to farmers. ONDR actively participates in the dissemination of technical innovations. It has thus been the linchpin of the revolutions introduced in phytosanitary protection such as the transition to "ULV" and "LV 10 liters" programs or the development of the "targeted Phased phytosanitary programs".

 

Support for the organization of the purchases of raw cotton:

The technicians of the ONDR's Production Department collected data such as: surfaces sown, realization of main crop operations, pesticides applications, seeds and inputs used and remaining stocks. They also carried out capsules counts and crop estimates on behalf of CotonTchad.

 

They also followed-up of the purchases of raw cotton. They ensured a link between the Village Associations and CotonTchad for the good progress of the evacuation of raw cotton to the factories. They communicated to CotonTchad staff: the cotton markets to be opened, the needs for empty boxes to load cotton in villages, the containers full of cotton to be removed and the stocks of cotton remaining in the villages.

Strengthening producer's organizations:

The action of the ONDR has made it possible to generalize the transfer of the primary purchase of raw cotton, previously ensured by agents from CotonTchad, to the responsibility of Village Associations. All the members of the purchasing teams: quality controllers, weighers and ticketers, have been trained about how to organize and handle a cotton market, the utilization of purchasing documents and their roles.

ONDR translated the purchasing management documents and procedures manuals into the vernacular languages. Besides,  functional literacy sessions in French and in the vernacular languages were organized so that the Village Associations had sufficient staff able to operate cotton markets.

 

marché coton autogéré-peseur
marché coton autogéré-équipe d'achat paysanne
marché coton autogéré- pesée coton
camion polybenne sur marché coton autogéré

Collaboration avec la CotonTchad pour l'organisation de la production de Coton au Sud du Tchad

Intervention de 1992 à 1994 pour le compte de la Compagnie pour le Développement des Fibres Textiles (CFDT). Détachement en tant que Directeur de la Production au sein de l'ONDR - Zone soudanienne pour appuyer la société cotonnière CotonTchad dans l'organisation et le développement de la production de coton sur l'ensemble du Sud du Tchad.

Collaboration avec la CotonTchad, l'IRCT et la station de recherche de Bébédja pour la définition des plans de campagne annuels.  C’est l’ONDR qui avait la charge de la mise en œuvre des actions relevant de l’appui aux producteurs de coton. En particulier, la Direction technique de l’ONDR :

 

  • Concevait les modules et manuels de formation des producteurs et organisait la formation en cascade des agents de terrain et des producteurs ;

  • Recensaient les intentions de culture et les demandes d’intrants,

  • Supervisait la mise en place des intrants par la CotonTchad dans les villages, leur stockage et distribution aux producteurs par les Associations Villageoises et leurs utilisations dans les champs.

  • Mettait en place auprès des AV les appareils de traitement et les bascules et organisait leur entretien ;

  • Suivaient les opérations culturales et fournissaient une estimation de récolte ;

  • Formait les responsables des AV ;

  • Suivait le déroulement des campagnes d'achat du coton graine.

Organisation de la production de coton

La Zone Soudanienne de l'ONDR s'étend sur tout le Sud du Tchad.depuis Léré à la frontière avec le Cameroun à l'Ouest, jusqu'à Kyabé à la frontière avec le Soudan à l'Est.  Pour couvrir cette zone et appuyer les agriculteurs,  la Direction de la Production disposait d'une équipe de 400 techniciens : Chef de secteurs, formateurs conseillers agricoles et encadreurs.

Ce sont eux qui recensaient les intentions de cultures coton en collaboration avec les Associations Villageoises (AV). Ces données étaient transmises à la CotonTchad et servaient de base à l'établissement des plans de campagne : surface coton par AV, programme de distribution de semences, engrais et produits phytosanitaires.

Avant le démarrage des travaux agricole, ces techniciens suivaient la mise en place des semences et des intrants par la CotonTchad et vérifiaient la disponibilité  des appareils de traitement et assuraient leur maintenance. Ils piquetaient les parcelles et suivaient les opérations culturales.

Des formations en cascade des producteurs aux Bonnes Pratiques Agricoles et les nouveaux itinéraires techniques étaient organisées. L’ONDR a participé activement à la diffusion des innovations techniques. Elle a ainsi été la cheville ouvrière des révolutions introduites dans la protection phytosanitaire : passage aux traitements «TBV» puis «BV 10 lites», lutte étagée sur seuil ....

Appui à l'organisation des campagnes d'achat du coton graine

Les agents de la Direction de la Production de l'ONDR recueillaient les données sur les surfaces semées, les semences et intrants utilisés et restant en stocks et réalisaient des comptages de capsules et des  estimations de récoltes pour le compte de la CotonTchad.

Ils assuraient aussi le suivi des campagnes d'achat du coton graine. Ils assuraient la liaison entre les Associations Villageoises et la CotonTchad pour le bon déroulement des évacuations de coton graine vers les usines. Ils communiquaient aux agents de la CotonTchad : les marchés coton à ouvrir,  les besoins en caisses vides pour charger le coton sur les marchés coton ouverts et les caisses pleines à enlever, les stocks de coton sur les marchés.

Renforcement des organisations de producteurs

L'ONDR a permis la généralisation du transfert de la commercialisation primaire du coton graine, préalablement assurée par des agents de la CotonTchad, aux Associations villageoises.  Des formations à l'organisation d'un marché coton, à la tenue des documents d'achats et aux rôles des différents membres d'une équipe d'achat : contrôleur qualité, peseur et ticketeur.

 

L'ONDR a assuré la traduction en langues vernaculaire des documents de gestion des achats et des manuels de procédures et des sessions d'alphabétisation fonctionnelle en Français et en langue vernaculaire ont été organisées afin que les Associations Villageoises disposent de suffisamment de cadres capables de tenir les marchés coton.

CONTACT