Support for the development of dairy breeding around the town of Kayes in Mali

elevage laitier Mali-Vaccination-samé-Kayes.jpg

The dairy breeding project was carried out by the Center for Development and Research (CIDR). It followed a first action realized by this NGO after the resettlement in Mali of six young migrant working in France.

The project has supported their conversion as farmers on land along the Senegal River, downstream from the town of Kayes in Mali. These young people who had no agricultural experience benefited from support in France for the preparation of their project and particularly of training with French farmers as well as coaching and financial support for their arrival in Mali. Each of these farms had 15 to 20 dairy cows. CIDR organized veterinary supervision of the herds and the commercialization of the milk in the town of Kayes.

 

To support the development of the milk production, the project has put in place the tools necessary to secure a reliable market for the entire production of these breeders, to mobilize the other villagers around the intensification of their traditional breeding and to ensure the supply of products, equipment and services essential to this development. Our work focused on four main activities:

 

  • The logistics to collect the milk daily in villages;

  • The organization of the milk commercialization in the city of Kayes;

  • The animation to support the creation of a breeders' cooperative so that farmers could take charge of collecting milk and supplying inputs;

  • The technical support for breeders.

 

These actions led to the setting of a mini dairy plant in 1985 in Kayes. The milk was collected through six itineraries around the town. The project also led to the creation of a breeders' cooperative in the district of Samé and the negotiation of a supervision program with the services of the Ministry of Agriculture.

 

Support for the development of milk production- Breeding intensification:

The villagers used to breed cattle on a sedentary and extensive way; characterized by a very low milk production with an average of less than 1 liter of milk per day. The rate of cows giving birth during a year was low. The lactation peak was low and very short while the females feed their calves for periods well beyond the year.

 

To develop the milk production, the project focused its support to breeders on:

 

  • The training of breeders;

  • The establishment of a bi-weekly milk production monitoring;

  • The improvement of the cattle alimentation during the dry season: diffusion of the forages storage (such as peanut or cow-peas leaves and bush straw) and the use of a nitrogen supplement in the form of peanut cakes, cotton cakes and cotton seeds;

  • The improvement of  the herds health through the organization of vaccination campaigns (against rinderpest, peripneumonia, anthrax and pasteurellosis), the fight against trypanosomiasis and a regular deworming of animals.

 

 

Support for the development of milk production: organization of daily milk collection.

The project collected milk from the herds of Toronké zebus, Moorish zebus and N'Dama cows belonging to sedentary farmers installed in a radius of 25 km around the city of Kayes and located along three axes: along the Senegal river, upstream and downstream of the city and along the Kollinbiné river.

 

Three collectors riding bicycles going from village to village along each axes gathered the milk every morning. We collected only the morning milking. We used plastic drums that were washed and disinfected with bleach every day to carry the milk. Collectors arrived at the dairy in Kayes between 8:30 a.m. and 11 a.m.

The bicycle may appear to be a rather slow vehicle to carry a very perishable product such as milk. However, it has proven to be a means of collection well suited to local conditions: very dispersed production, low volumes and dirt roads in very poor conditions. With collectors selected for their motivation and their seriousness, this way of gathering and transporting the milk to Kayes worked very reliably.

 

Up to 13,500 liters of milk were collected in one year

Filière lait à Kayes-Mali- collecte lait-Kayes.jpg

Support for the development of milk production: creation of a mini-dairy

At the beginning of the project, the dairy only consisted in a room in a building made of "banco" and was only equipped with rudimentary means: freezer and refrigerators, manual cream separator and a small 1.7 kVa generator to supply power during the numerous cuts of the public grid.

 

Upon its arrival at Kayes, the milk was filtered through a cotton cloth after a basic quality control: physical appearance, taste and boiling behavior control. Fresh milk was kept cool and sold in the evening on the “night market” and through street vendors equipped with rickshaws. It was manually packaged in a 1/2 liter plastic bag.

 

The milk that was too acid to pass the boiling test was curdled in plastic basins and sold the next morning in 0.25 liter plastic bags, fresh and sweet.

 

In 1985, a mini dairy was set up with the support of Mali-Lait, the association of former students of French ENIL (Dairy industry schools) and a loan from the BNDA. Located in a larger and more suitable warehouse, this mini-dairy was equipped with: a 400-liter stainless steel receiving tank, an Actini ultraviolet pasteurizer equipped with a compressor to refrigerate the milk, a 650 liters refrigerated tank, an electric milk skimmer, a semi-automatic belt bagging machine allowing a packaging of 100 sachets of ½ liter per hour and a freezer to store the sachets of fresh pasteurized milk until the sale.

A yogurt production has been launched under the brand Sigi Lait.

 

SIGI LAIT.jpg

Support for the development of milk production: Research & Development

Peulh and Sarakolé breeders were living in the bush North of Kayes. They used to produce large volumes of milk during the rainy season. Because there was no market close to breeders' camp, a significant part of this milk was not sold. The distance from Kayes was too long to allow us to collect this milk with a bicycle and the roads' conditions, especially during the rains, made the transport by car too randomly. The project carried out trials to make feta cheese with artisanal means available in the camps of Peulh breeders. The feta was stored and transported to Kayes in brine. Trials to transform the feta cheese after desalting into processed cheese packaged in small "sausage" were also carried out.

 

Finally, given the difficulties to get sufficient supply of peanut cake, cotton cake or cottonseed, attempts to produce animal feed from the content of rumens recovered from the Kayes slaughterhouse were conducted in collaboration with an FAO expert.

Filière latraite chez les peulhst-Région de Kayes-Mali-
Filière lait-Kayes-Mali-Vaccinateur.jpg

Appui au développement de l'élevage laitier autour de la ville de Kayes au Mali

Le projet d’élevage laitier était mené sous l’égide du Centre de Développement et de Recherche (CIDR). Il faisait suite à une première action de cette ONG qui avait suivi la réinstallation de six jeunes travailleurs migrants désireux de rentrer au Mali.

Le projet avait appuyé leur reconversion en tant qu’éleveurs sur des terres le long du fleuve Sénégal, en aval de la ville de Kayes au Mali. Ces jeunes qui n’avaient pas d’expérience agricole ont bénéficié d’un appui en France pour la préparation de leur projet et notamment d’une formation auprès d’agriculteurs français ainsi que d’un encadrement et d’un appui financier à leur arrivée au Mali. Chacun de ces élevages comptait 15 à 20 vaches laitières.  Le CIDR organisait l'appui  vétérinaire et la vente du lait sur la ville de Kayes.

Pour appuyer le développement de la production laitière, le projet a mis en place les outils nécessaires pour garantir un débouché fiable pour la totalité de la production de ces éleveurs, mobiliser les autres villageois autour de l’intensification de leurs élevages traditionnels et d’assurer la fourniture des produits et services indispensables à ce développement. Le travail s’est axé autour de quatre activités :

  • La mise en place de circuits de collecte du lait ;

  • L’organisation de la vente du lait à Kayes ;

  • L'animation coopérative afin que les éleveurs prennent en charge la collecte du lait et leur approvisionnement en intrants ;

  • L'appui technique aux éleveurs.

Ces actions ont abouti à la mise en place en 1985 d’une mini laiterie à Kayes alimentée par six circuits de collecte, la création d’une coopérative d’éleveurs sur l’arrondissement de Samé et la négociation d’un programme d’encadrement avec les services du Ministère de l’Agriculture.

Appui au développement de la production laitière : intensification des élevages :

Les villageois sédentaires pratiquaient un élevage extensif caractérisé par une très faible production laitière avec moins de 1 litre de lait par jour en moyenne. Le taux de femelles mettant bas dans l’année était faible. Le pic de lactation était peu élevé et très court alors que les femelles allaitent leurs veaux sur des périodes dépassant largement l’année.

Pour développer la production laitière, l'appui du projet a porté sur  :

  • La formation des éleveurs ;

  • La mise en place d’un contrôle laitier bihebdomadaire ;

  • L'amélioration de la ration alimentaire des animaux pendant la saison sèche :  vulgarisation de la récolte de fourrages (fanes d’arachides, niébé et paille de brousse) et l’utilisation d’un complément azoté sous la forme de tourteau d’arachide, de coton et de graines de coton ;

  • L'amélioration de l’état sanitaire du troupeau : organisation de campagnes de vaccination contre la peste bovine, la péripneumonie, le charbon et la pasteurellose), lutte contre la trypanosomiase et  déparasitage régulier des animaux.

Appui au développement de la production laitière : organisation d'une collecte quotidienne du lait.

La collecte de lait concernait les troupeaux de zébus toronkés et maures et de taurins N’Dama appartenant à des paysans sédentaires installés dans un rayon de 25 km sur 3 axes autour de la ville de Kayes : le long du Sénégal en amont et en aval de la ville et le long de la rivière Kollinbiné.

Le lait était ramassé tous les matins par des collecteurs circulant à bicyclette. Seul le lait de la traite du matin était collecté. Il arrivait à la laiterie à Kayes entre 8 h30 et 11 heures dans des bidons plastiques qui étaient lavés et désinfectés à la javel tous les jours.

Le vélo peut apparaitre lent mais il s’est avéré être un moyen de collecte bien adapté aux conditions locales : production très dispersées et volumes faibles, pistes en très mauvais état. Avec des collecteurs sélectionnés pour leur motivation et leur sérieux, les circuits de collecte ont fonctionné de manière très fiable.

Jusqu'à 13 500 litres de lait ont ainsi été collectés en une année

Appui au développement de la production laitière : Mise en place d'une mini-laiterie

Au démarrage du projet, la laiterie n’était en fait qu’une pièce dans un local de banco et n’était équipé que de moyens rudimentaires : congélateur et réfrigérateurs, écrémeuse manuelle et un petit groupe électrogène de 1.7 kVa pour pallier aux coupures de courant chroniques.

A son arrivée à Kayes, le lait était filtré à travers un tissu de coton après un contrôle qualité simple : aspect physique, goût et test de comportement à l’ébullition. Le lait frais était conservé au frais et vendu le soir sur le «petit marché» et par l’intermédiaire de vendeurs ambulants équipés de pousse-pousse. Il était conditionné en sachet plastique de 1/2 litres.

 

Les laits trop acides étaient mis à cailler dans des bassines en plastiques et vendu de lendemain matin conditionné en poches plastique de 0.25 litre, frais et sucré.

En 1985, une mini laiterie a été installée avec l’appui de Mali-Lait, de l’association des anciens élèves des ENIL de France et d'un prêt de la BNDA. Située dans un magasin en dur plus vaste et mieux adapté, cette mini-laiterie disposait, d’une cuve de réception en inox de 400 litres, d’un pasteurisateur à ultraviolet Actini équipé d’un compresseur frigorifique, d’une cuve réfrigérée de 650 litres, d’une écrémeuse électrique, d’une ensacheuse à bande semi-automatique permettant un conditionnement 100 sachets de ½ litre par heure et d’un congélateur pour conserver les sachets de lait frais pasteurisé jusqu’à la vente.

Une production de yaourt a été lancée sous la marque Sigi Lait.

Appui au développement de la production laitière : Recherche & Développement

Au Nord de Kayes résidaient des éleveurs peuhls et sarakolés qui produisaient d’importants volumes de lait en saison des pluies. Faute de débouchés, une partie significative de ce lait n’était pas commercialisée. La distance était trop longue pour une collecte en vélo et l’état des pistes, surtout pendant les pluies, rendait une collecte en véhicule aléatoire. Le projet a réalisé des essais de fabrication de fromage de type féta avec des moyens artisanaux disponibles dans les campements des éleveurs peulhs. La féta était stockée et transportée à Kayes dans de la saumure. Des essais de transformation de la féta après dessalage en fromage fondu conditionné en petits pots plastiques ont aussi été menés.

Enfin, compte tenu des difficultés pour obtenir des tourteaux d’arachide ou de coton ou des graines de coton en quantités suffisantes, des essais de production d’un aliment du bétail à partir du contenu des rumens récupérés sur l’abattoir de Kayes ont été menés en collaboration avec un expert de la FAO.

CONTACT