Conception and implementation of the Gaoual-Koundara Rural Development Project in Guinea

Intervention, from 1987 to 1992 in the Republic of Guinea on behalf of the French Company for the Development of Textile Fibers (CFDT). We were in charge of creating and implementing the Rural Development Project in the prefectures of Gaoual and Kundara in the North West of the country. The project was funded by the Caisse Centrale de Coopération Economique (today the French Development Agency). it aimed at raising the income of farmers in this region by using cotton farming as a locomotive to improve food crop yields, diversify farmers' sources of income and boost their organization. Our intervention covered:

 

  • the drafting and validation of the feasibility study for the first 3-years phase of the integrated agricultural and rural development project;

  • The building of the teams and infrastructures for the integrated agricultural and rural development project;

 

  • The implementation of this first phase which included, in addition to the introduction and development of cotton production, the support for food crops such as groundnut, rice and millet, the equipment of smallholders into cultivation tools and the training of plough oxen, the production of vegetables (tomatoes, onions, potatoes), the support to villages' organizations (cereal banks, seed banks, cotton producers' groups) and the repair of rural roads;

  • The drafting of the feasibility study of the project's second phase.

Agricultural and rural development: support to food crops production chains:

The feasibility study concluded that it was necessary to include the food crops and particularly the production of groundnuts and cereals (rain-fed rice, sorghum and millet) in project's scope. Sorghum and millet were indeed the staple food for rural populations and groundnuts provided a source of monetary income complementary to cotton.

 

Support for these cultures took the form of:

 

  • The popularization of a groundnut-cotton-sorghum/millet rotation. The root systems of these three cultures indeed explore different soil horizons. In addition, cotton benefits from the nitrogen fixed by the groundnut the previous year and the cereal benefits from a rear effect of the applied manure on the cotton crop;

  • The design, the test in a farming environment and the vulgarization of Good Agricultural Practices as well as the monitoring by the project technicians, of the cultivation operations;

  • The dissemination of seeds of improved varieties of groundnuts and rice and the establishment of groundnuts seed banks;

 

Farmers used to sale peanuts and cereals on local markets.

 

Projet Développement Rural Gaoual-Kundara-mais devant Plateau du Badiar
Projet Développement Rural Gaoual Kundara-meule de fonio
Projet développement Rural Goual Kundara-stock millet
projet Développement Rural Goual-Kundara-Stock sorgho.jpg

Agricultural and rural development:  Access to harnessed cultivation.

To support the development of food crops chains, the agricultural and rural development project facilitated the access of farmers to cultivation equipment such as:

 

  • ploughs to be used with oxen or donkey;

  • multi-cultivators equipped with scarifiers, ridgers and weeding tools;

  • donkey pull carts.

 

These materials were sold to farmers on credit over several years. The annual repayment was taken directly from cotton sales. Total of outstanding loans (fertilizers, pesticides, others inputs and equipment) was limited to 30% of expected cotton income. Credits for the purchase of pairs of oxen were also tested. We also organized training sessions about oxen taming, about how to handle driving them and what cares they need.

Projet développement rural Goual Kundara-culture attelée-boeuf de labour

Together with the development of animal traction, the project trained farmers on the production and use of manure to maintain the level of organic matter in the soil. The project thus supported the construction of stables with a relative success. The bottleneck for the extension of the use of manure is the large volumes of material to be handled: straw to spread in the stable, manure to come out of the barn, to turn over during its maturation and to spread on the field and the water for maintaining a minimum humidity of the maturing manure during the dry season. It represents an important amount of work coming into competition with other activities on the farm. The necessity to have a cart to carry the material also limits the spread of this technique.

 

The use of dry feces collected on the place where flocks are kept at night has also been vulgarized as an alternative to stables, although the impact on the level of organic matter in the soil is lower.

 

Agricultural and rural development: supporting vegetable production

A component of the rural development project supported the development of the production and commercialization of vegetables. This action aimed more specifically women and had two objectives:

 

  • The diversification of the diet with the integration of salads, tomatoes and other vegetables in the preparation of meals;

  • The generation of incomes' sources for women through the commercialization of onions. Women sold the production on local markets where traders bought it to send it to Conakry and Boké. The project helped women organize themselves to sell their produce directly to Conakry and to reduce losses during the storage and transport of onions.

 

A potato production trial was also carried out for two years, inspired by the example of farmers around Labé. However, the temperatures in the Gaoual region are not low enough to obtain good tuberization.

 

Agricultural and rural development: strengthening farmers' organizations

Within its activities, the project encouraged the establishment of various villagers' organizations and in particular cotton producers groups as well as the creation of seed banks.

These seeds banks were set to support the production of peanut. At harvest time, farmers faced treasury issues and were often obliged to sell their entire production without keeping seeds for the next crop. When the sowing time came again, they had to go into debt to buy peanuts seeds at a very high price. To support peanut producers, our seeds bank bought the peanuts at market price during harvest time. These peanuts were sorted, protected with the application of a fungicide and stored in a warehouse built with the project's help.

The peanuts seeds were sold back to members of the group at the time of sowing, which also corresponds to the lean season. Even if the seeds banks managed to generate a margin sufficient to cover their costs, the sale price was much lower than the market during the same period. It was was very helpful to reduced the indebtedness of the farmers and help them grow larger surfaces of peanuts

 

Cereal banks have also been set up along the same operating principles to guarantee the supply of basic food during the lean season.

 

Motorized rice hullers have been installed to facilitate women's work and create jobs in the villages.

Projet développement rural Gaoual-Kundara-décortiqueuse riz.jpg
Projet développement Rural Goual Kundara-criblage arachid
projet développement Rural Gaoual-Kundara-labour

Définition et mise en oeuvre du Projet de Développement Rural de Gaoual-Koundara en Guinée

Nous sommes intervenus de 1987 à 1992 en République de Guinée pour le compte de la Compagnie Française pour le Développement des Fibres Textiles (CFDT) pour la mise en œuvre du Projet de Développement Rural Intégré dans les préfectures de Goual et de Kundara au Nord-Ouest du pays. Le projet était financé par la Caisse Centrale de Coopération Economique (aujourd’hui l’Agence Française de Développement) et avait pour objectif de relever le revenu des agriculteurs dans cette région. La culture cotonnière servait de locomotive pour l’amélioration des rendements des cultures vivrières, la diversification des sources de revenus et l’organisation des paysans.

 

Notre mission a couvert :

  • La réalisation et la validation de l’étude de faisabilité de la première phase de 3 ans du projet de développement agricole et rural intégré ;

  • La mise en place des équipes et des infrastructures du projet de développement agricole et rural intégré  ;

  • La mise en œuvre de cette première phase qui comprenait outre l'introduction et le développement de la production de coton, l’appui aux cultures d’arachide, de riz et de mil, la diffusion de matériel de culture attelée et le dressage de boeufs de labour, un volet maraichage, l’appui aux organisations villageoises (banques de céréales, banques de semences, groupements de producteurs) et la construction de pistes rurales ;

  • La réalisation de l’étude de faisabilité d’une deuxième phase du projet.

Développement agricole et rural : appui aux filières des produits vivriers :

L’étude de faisabilité a conclu à l’utilité d’inclure les filières agricoles vivrières et notamment les productions d'arachide et de céréales (riz pluvial, sorgho et mil) dans la sphère du projet. Le Sorgho et mil constituaient en effet la base de l’alimentation des populations rurales et l’arachide offrait une source de revenu monétaire complémentaire au coton.

 

L’appui à ces cultures s'est concrétisé par :

  • La vulgarisation d’une rotation arachide-coton-sorgho/mil. Les systèmes racinaires de ces trois cultures explorent en effet des horizons du sol différents. De plus le coton bénéficie de l’azote fixé par l’arachide l’année précédente et la céréale bénéfice d’un arrière effet de la fumure épandue sur la culture de coton ;

  • La conception, le test en milieu paysan et la diffusion de Bonnes Pratiques Agricoles et un suivi des opérations culturales par les techniciens du projet ;

  • La diffusion de semences d’arachide et de riz de variétés améliorée et la mise en place de banques de semences d’arachide ;

La commercialisation de l’arachide et des surplus de céréales était réalisée par les paysans sur les marchés locaux.

Développement agricole et rural : diffusion de la culture attelée

Pour accompagner le développement des filières agricoles, le projet de développement agricole et rural a appuyé l’équipement des paysans en matériel de culture attelée :

 

  • charrues à traction bovine ou asine,

  • multiculteurs équipés de scarificateurs, corps sarcleurs et butteurs

  • charrettes asines.

 

Ces matériels étaient cédés aux paysans à crédit sur plusieurs années. Le remboursement des annuités étaient prélevées directement sur les ventes de coton. Les encours des crédits (intrants et matériel) étaient limités à 30 % des revenus coton escomptés. Des crédits pour l’achat aussi de paires de bœufs ont aussi été testés et des formation au dressage, à la conduite et aux soins aux boeufs de labour ont été organisées.

La diffusion de la culture attelée s’accompagnait de la vulgarisation de la production et de  l’utilisation du fumier pour le maintien du taux de matière organique dans le sol. Le projet a ainsi appuyé la construction d’étables fumières avec un succès mitigé. Le facteur limitant à la vulgarisation de l’emploi du fumier est constitué par  les volumes importants à manipuler : la paille à épandre dans l’étable, le fumier à sortir de l’étable, à retourner au cours de sa maturation et à épandre sur la parcelle et l'eau pour maintenir une humidité minimum du fumier en maturation pendant la saison sèche. Les temps de travail que cela représente et la nécessité de disposer d’une charrette limitent la diffusion de cette technique.

L’utilisation de poudrette de parcs a été aussi vulgarisée en alternative aux étables fumières bien que l’impact sur le taux de matière organique dans le sol soit plus faible.

Développement agricole et rural : développement des productions maraichères

Un volet pour développer le maraîchage et appuyer les filières des produits maraichers a été mis en œuvre. Cette action s’adressait plus particulièrement aux femmes et poursuivait deux objectifs :

  • La diversification du régime alimentaire avec l’intégration des salades, tomates et autres légumes dans la préparation des repas ;

  • La génération de sources de revenus pour les femmes grâce à la culture de l’oignon. La production était vendue par les femmes sur les marchés locaux où des commerçantes les achetaient pour les envoyer sur Conakry et Boké. Le projet a aidé les femmes à s’organiser pour vendre leur production directement à Conakry et réduire les pertes lors du stockage et du transport des oignons.

Un essai de production de pommes de terre a aussi été mené durant deux années en s’inspirant de l’exemple des maraîchers de Labé. Mais les températures dans la région de Gaoual ne sont pas suffisamment basses pour obtenir une bonne tubérisation.

Développement agricole et rural : renforcement des organisations paysannes

Dans le cadre de ses activités, le projet a encouragé la mise en place d’organisations villageoises et notamment des groupements de producteurs cotonniers ainsi que la création de banques de semences d’arachide.

Le principe de fonctionnement de ces banques était le rachat aux membres du groupement d’une partie de leur production sous la forme d’arachides non décortiquées à la période de la récolte. Ces arachides étaient triées, traitées et stockées dans un magasin construit avec l’aide du projet. Elles étaient revendues aux membres du groupe à l’époque des semis qui correspond aussi à la période de soudure avec une marge couvrant les frais de traitement et de stockage. Le prix de vente était bien inférieur à celui pratiqué sur les marchés à la même période et réduisait l’endettement des paysans pour l’achat des semences.

Des banques de céréales ont aussi été mises en place sur le même schéma pour garantir l’approvisionnement en aliments de base en période de soudure.

 

Des décortiqueuses à riz à moteurs ont été mis en place pour faciliter le travail des femmes et créer des emplois dans les villages.

CONTACT