Support the revitalization of the cotton production in Guinea Bissau

Our intervention took place during five years from 1995 to 1999 under a contract with the French Company for the Development of Textile Fibers (CFDT). The CFDT had been mandated by the government of Guinea Bissau to revitalize the production of cotton in the east of the country. This followed the activities carried out by a rural development project.

In 1995, the activities of the project was split out in two. Support to food crops and rural development was passed on to  Portuguese technical assistance while a dedicated entity,  the "Unidade de Gestaõ Alogodoeira (UGA)" was created to carry out all the activities linked to cotton production. The CFDT was in charge of the management of the UGA in collaboration with the Ministry of agriculture of Guinea Bissau. The UGA benefited from funding from AFD and the European Union.

 

We provided operational management for the UGA and our mission covered:

 

  • Technical support for cotton producers;

  • The organization of the purchase and transport of raw cotton;

  • The management of the cotton ginning unit located in Bafatá;

  • The execution of sales contracts for fiber and cotton seeds;

  • The administrative and financial management of the UGA;

  • The relations with administrative authorities and the government of Guinea Bissau;

  • The reporting and relations with donors.

 

Filière coton Guinée Bissau-balles UGA en attente

Support to cotton producers

A team of extension officers has been recruited, equipped and trained. Their tasks were to:

 

  • Conduct meetings in all villages to assess the previous cotton campaign and explain the modalities of the upcoming one;

  • list the intentions of cotton cultivation for the upcoming cotton crop;

  • "piqueter" (to measure and materialize) all the future cotton plots;

  • Supervise the maintenance of sprayers, the dispatch of seeds and inputs in the villages as well as their distribution to producers;

  • Manage the provision of credit for cultivation tools;

  • Train producers to Good Agricultural Practices and organize field demonstrations, monitor the farming operations and observe in parasite pressure;

  • Carry out capsule counts and harvest estimates;

  • Supervise cotton purchases and support the evacuation of raw cotton to the ginning plant.

Purchase of raw cotton and reinforcement of farmers' organizations:

To secure the development of the cotton production in Guinea Bissau, we sought to involve producers in the operational management of the value chain.

Thus, the UGA supported the establishment of producer groups. The UGA organized the transfer of the responsibility for purchasing raw cotton to these groups. They were trained to the management of cotton markets: physical organization of the markets, tasks of the different actors (weigher, ticketer and quality controller), handling of scales and weighing the cotton, keeping record, accounting and finance management, etc.

 

On these market the raw cotton was purchased individually with different prices according to its quality (1st choice, 2nd choice and rejection). The quality of the cotton was determined for each producer, on the markets. The cotton from the various producers was mixed inside the truck at loading, but cotton from different groups and from different qualities were isolated. Trucks were weighted at their arrival at the factory. A quality control of the entire truckload was carried out by an UGA agent in the presence of a producer representative.

Cotton was paid to farmers group on the base of the weight at factory and the group paid each farmer individually. As the factory weight was always different from the total of farmers' individual weights on the market, groups applied an additional tare of 1 kg per tarpaulin to be sure that different was always be in favor of the farmers. An excess weight was therefore generated for each truck and paid by the UGA to the group. This amount was added to the commission paid by the UGA to each group in retribution for the management of raw cotton markets and the loading of the trucks.

 

The training and coaching of groups' leaders also focused on the transparency of the management of these resources and their use.

 

 

Filière coton Guinée Bissau-marché_coton_bafata.jpg

Cotton ginning:

The rapidity to purchase, remove and pay the cotton to producers is an essential factor of cotton production sustainability. To achieve this, the UGA had its own fleet of five trucks that enabled them to transport around 30% of the cotton . The UGA contracted private carriers from Bafatá and Gabu to evacuate the rest of the cotton to the factory before the first rains arrived. These vehicles also delivered to the villages the seeds and the inputs necessary for the following crop. As much as possible trucks were loaded with these goods when they left for the villages to load cotton.

 

The UGA operated a classic ginning factory completing the necessary resources required for the cotton chain in Guinea Bissau. This plant was equipped with a 158-saws ginning unit and a high-density press allowing the conditioning of the cotton to international standards. A 350-kVa generator powered the factory. Seed cotton silos, a garage and warehouses for the fiber, seeds and fertilizers completed these facilities. A small team of permanent employees took care of the general maintenance between two seasons.  During the ginning period, they supervised the numerous seasonal workers operating in two 12-hour shifts. The capacity to process all of the cotton before the rains come is an essential condition for the sustainability of cotton production in Guinea Bissau.

 

To complete the independence of the cotton sector in Guinea Bissau and speed up the fiber export process, we installed a grading room and organized the training of a grader to classify bales of fibers in Bafatá. This classification, confirmed by the Quality service of SODEFITEX in Dakar, served as a basis for the execution of fiber sales contracts.

 

Fiber and seeds were marketed through the CFDT. Fiber bales were exported via the port of Bissau in containers loaded at Bafatá. The seeds were exported in bulk from Bissau.

Filière coton Guinée Bissau-UGA-Balle sortie Presse
Filière coton Guinée Bissau-UGA-camion sous l'aspiration
Filière Coton Guinée Bissau-UGA-egreneuse
Filière Coton Guinée Bissau-UGA -Presse hydraulique

Appuyer la relance de la filière coton de Guinée Bissau

Notre intervention s’est déroulée sur cinq années de 1995 à 1999 dans le cadre d’un contrat avec la Compagnie Française pour le Développement des Fibres Textiles (CFDT). Celle-ci avait été chargée par le gouvernement de Guinée Bissau de relancer la production de coton dans l'est du pays. Cette relance prenait la suite d’actions menées dans le cadre d’un projet de développement rural.

En 1995, il y a eu une scission entre les activités d’appui aux cultures vivrières et au développement rural menées par une assistance technique portugaise et les activités liées à la production du coton qui ont été regroupées au sein d’une entité distincte : l’Unidade de Gestaõ Alogodoeira (UGA) dont la gestion a été confiée à la CFDT avec un financement de l’AFD et de l’Union Européenne.

Nous avons assuré la direction opérationnelle de l’UGA et notre mission couvrait :

  • L’appui technique aux producteurs de coton ;

  • L’organisation de la collecte et de l’achat du coton graine ;

  • La gestion de l’unité d’égrenage du coton implantée à Bafatá ;

  • L’exécution des contrats de ventes de la fibre et des graines de coton ;

  • La gestion administrative et financière de l’UGA ;

  • La gestion des relations avec les autorités administratives et le gouvernement de Guinée Bissau ;

  • Le reporting et les relations avec les bailleurs de fonds.

Appui aux producteurs de coton

Une équipe de techniciens agricoles a été recrutée, équipée et formée. Leurs tâches consistaient à :

  • Animer des réunions de début de campagne pour faire le bilan de la campagne précédente et expliquer les modalités de la campagne à venir ;

  • Recenser, à l’issue de ces réunions, les intentions de culture coton ;

  • Piqueter les parcelles ;

  • Coordonner l’entretien des appareils de traitement ainsi que la mise en place des intrants dans les villages et leur distribution aux producteurs ;

  • Gérer l’octroi de crédit matériel de culture attelée ;

  • Former les producteurs aux Bonnes Pratiques Agricoles, faire des démonstrations, suivre les opérations culturales et l’évolution de la pression parasitaire ;

  • Réaliser les comptages de capsule et les estimations de récolte ;

  • Superviser les achats de coton et appuyer la collecte du coton graine vers l’usine d’égrenage.

Renforcement des organisations de producteurs et achat du coton graine :

Pour pérenniser l’avenir de la production de coton en Guinée Bissau, nous avons cherché à impliquer les producteurs dans la gestion opérationnelle de la filière.

L’UGA a appuyé la mise en place de groupements des producteurs auxquels a été transférée la responsabilité des achats du coton graine. Les responsables de ces groupements ont été formés à la tenue des marchés autogérés : organisation physique des marchés, rôles des différents acteurs (peseur, ticketeur, contrôleur qualité), manipulation des balances et bascules, tenue des documents, gestion de la ristourne, ….

Le coton graine était acheté individuellement suivant trois qualité (1° choix, 2° choix et rejet). La détermination de la qualité du coton était faite, planteur par planteur, sur les marchés. Les camions étaient chargés en mélangeant le coton des différents producteurs d’un même groupement mais en isolant les différentes qualités. Lors de la pesée à l’usine, un contrôle de la qualité du chargement était réalisé par un agent de l’UGA en présence d’un représentant des producteurs.

Le poids payé au groupement était celui du pont bascule de l’usine. Pour éviter que le total des pesées individuelles sur les marchés soit supérieur au poids usine, les groupements appliquaient une sur-tare de 1Kg par bâche. Un excédent poids était donc dégagé à chaque camion et payé par l’UGA au groupement. Ce montant venait s’ajouter à la ristourne versée par l’UGA à chaque groupement pour rémunérer la tenue des marchés autogérés de coton.

La formation et le coaching des responsables de groupement portait aussi sur la transparence de la gestion de ces ressources et leur utilisation.

Egrenage du coton graine :

L’achat, l’enlèvement et le paiement rapide du coton graine aux producteurs sont des facteurs essentiels de la pérennisation de la production de coton. Pour ce faire la filière coton de Guinée Bissau  disposait d’une flotte de cinq camions qui lui permettait d’assurer environ 30% de la collecte du coton graine. L’UGA faisait appel aux transporteurs de Bafatá et Gabu pour évacuer le reste du coton vers l’usine avant l’arrivée des premières pluies. Ces mêmes véhicules mettaient en place dans les villages les semences et les intrants nécessaires pour la campagne suivante en allant chercher le coton dans les villages.

Dernier maillon de la chaine de valeur de la filière coton en Guinée Bissau l’UGA disposait d’une usine d’égrenage classique équipée d'une égreneuse à 158 scies et d’une presse à haute densité permettant l’égrenage et le conditionnement du coton graine aux standards internationaux. Un groupe électrogène de 350 kVa alimentait l’usine. Des silos à coton graine, un garage et des magasins pour la fibre, les graines et les intrants complétaient ces installations. Une petite équipe de d’employés permanents assurait la maintenance entre deux saisons d’égrenage et encadrait les nombreux manœuvres saisonniers travaillaient en deux équipes de 12 heures pendant la saison d’égrenage. La capacité d'égrener la totalité du coton avant l'arrivée des pluies est une condition indispensable à la pérennité de la production de coton en Guinée Bissau.

Pour parachever l'indépendance de la filière coton de Guinée Bissau et accélérer les procédures d'exportation de la fibre  nous avons installé une salle de classement et organisé la formation d’un classeur afin de classer les balles de fibres sur Bafatá. Ce classement, confirmé par le service de classement de la SODEFITEX à Dakar, servait de base à l’exécution des contrats de ventes de fibres.

Fibre et graines étaient commercialisées par le biais de la CFDT. Les balles de fibres étaient exportées via le port de Bissau en conteneurs chargés à Bafatá. Les graines étaient exportées via des vraquiers chargés à Bissau.

CONTACT