Tobacco production management in Madagascar

We worked for 5 years in Madagascar on behalf of the Imperial Tobacco Group. We were responsible for the operational management of SOCTAM and SITAM. The role of these two subsidiaries of the group, under Malagasy law, was to supply the tobacco necessary for the SACIMEM: the cigarette factory located in Antsirabé.  SOCTAM is in charge of the production of tobacco when SITAM processes it.

 

Tobacco production in Madagascar is controlled by the Malagasy Tobacco Office (OFMATA), which annually issues tobacco cultivation permits, controls any tobacco movements and regulates the operation of the tobacco industry. SOCTAM grows tobacco, on its own farms and in collaboration with a network of independent planters. At that time, SOCTAM produced most of the Flue Cured Virginia tobacco and Burley tobacco cultivated in Madagascar. The OFMATA supervised the production of brown tobacco carried out by smallholders.

 

Malagasy tobacco is grown during the dry season on flooded plains in the Central West of the country. These crops therefore suffer from drought and heat, even with irrigation, which affects the agronomical yields and the quality of the tobacco harvested. However, the cultivation of tobacco was protected by fiscal measures penalizing the importation of cigarettes and the incorporation of imported tobacco into cigarettes sold in Madagascar.

SOCTAM's management of the production of Madagascan tobacco.

SOCTAM produced the tobacco needed for the supply of the Antsirabé cigarette factory. SOCTAM grew Flue Cured Virginia tobacco, burley tobacco and some PX Claro tobacco (a variety similar to dark tobacco). This tobacco was grown on farms managed directly by SOCTAM and through a network of small producers. A few larger planters cultivating farms of several tens of hectares completed this production.

Tobacco production on SOCTAM's farms:

filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-Baibohos Tanetilava
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-Champs FC Amnadroangiso

SOCTAM directly operated 11 farms of 80 to 200 ha located in the Center-West of the island (Manpikony and Bévilany) and in the South-West (Minadrivazo) on which it produced Burley tobacco, Flue Cured Virginia and some dark tobacco (PX Claro variety).

 

These farms were estates formerly created during the French colonization to supply French cigarette manufacturers with dark tobacco. They are located on plains along rivers (the baibohos). These plains are flooded during the rainy season. It generates the soil fertility through the alluvial deposits. However, it is also at the origin of erosion phenomena that can sweep away large plots located on the banks of watercourses. Large amount of sand can also cover some areas turning them unsuitable for the cultivation.

Tobacco as well as other crops grown on these plains, are therefore grown in the off-season. Seedlings and young plants are raised in nurseries during the end of the rainy season. They are transplanted in fields following the decrease of rivers' level. The plants develop in the dry season by drawing water from the soil. The Harmattan will amplify the effects of the hot and dry conditions in which tobacco must develop. This results in thick leaves reaching maturity with difficulty.

 

This off-season tobacco production on baibohos soils requires strict respect of a precise timetable for planting in nurseries and transplanting so that the development of plants followed the withdrawal of water. This involved the mechanization of cultivation operations, in particular the preparation of the soil, the application of fertilization and the first weeding.


Because of the dry and the hot climatic conditions, the use of irrigation was essential to ensure the development of plants and maturity of leaves.

filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-labour-Tsiandarafa
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-prépa sol défriche
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-épandage engrais au terraplough_ABS_05_05.J
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-irrigation

The farms therefore had a complete equipment: tractors, motor-pumps and cultivation tools as well as facilities for drying and conditioning the leaves: air-cure barns for burley and dark tobacco, fired-cure barns for the Flue Cured Virginia, fermentation rooms, grading units, manual presses and warehouses.

 

The farms employed a significant labor force; particularly for the nursery care, the last weeding, the disbudding and clipping of the plants, the harvesting of the leaves and their sorting after curing.

 

The use of wood for drying the Virginia tobacco motivated the planting of several hundred hectares of eucalyptus to avoid to damage natural forests. Maintenance and R&D works were also undertaken regularly on ovens to improve the performance of the furnaces of the ovens for Virginia Flue Cured in order to reduce the consumption of fuelwood per ton of tobacco.

filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-fours Tanetilava
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-Coupe eucaliptus

In this context, our intervention focused on:

 

  • The definition and implementation of annual cultivation plans according to the needs of the cigarette factory;

 

  • The drafting and execution of investment plans and annual budgets;

 

  • The definition and monitoring of performance indicators. The monitoring and achievements of production costs targets ;

 

  • The organization and supervision of work and the training of teams. The usage and maintenance of equipment;

 

  • The supply of the farms with inputs and consumables;

 

  • The organization and supervision of operations, the training of the teams and more generally the management of Human Resources;

 

  • The introduction of new agricultural practices, particularly in terms of irrigation;

 

  • The improvement in the quality of tobacco produced and the regularity and reliability of tobacco leaves' grading;

 

  • The logistics for the tobacco bales' evacuation to the threshing unit in Mahajanga;

 

  • The definition and implementation of Social and Environmental Responsibility actions plans.

filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-pépinière tabac burley-Mororano
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-pépinières tabac virginie-Labandikely
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-plantation-Ambessissika
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-ferme Labandikely
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-fours à tabac virginie-Bévilany
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-séchoirs à tabac Burley-Analamitsyvolana
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-récolte taac virginie-tanetilava
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-fours à tabac virginie-Labandikely
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-pente tabac PX Claro
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-manoquage tabac virginie-Ambessissika
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-stock manoques-Labandikely
filière tabac madagascar-Fermes SOCTAM-jeunes plants tabac burley-Mororano

The development of Malagasy tobacco production through smallholders:

Production tabac madagascar-producteur de Tsaramandroso
Production tabac madagascar -transport tabac

SOCTAM developed the production of Flue Cured Virginia tobacco and particulalrly of Burley tobacco by farmers through a network of "Semi Industrial Planters" (PSI) linked to SOCTAM. These producers cultivated tobacco on their own plots or on plots made available by SOCTAM within its farms. These plots couldn't benefit from irrigation, except for a manual watering just after planting. They were therefore very dependent on climatic conditions. The scheduled for the soil preparation and for transplantation was critical and conditioned the success of the crop.

 

We organized support for these producers:

 

  • At the beginning of the campaign, a team of technicians listed the farmers interested in tobacco production and the surface they intended to grow. Cultivation contracts were signed between SOCTAM and each of these producers. These contracts guaranteed to producers that SOCTAM would buy all of their production at a price known from the start of the crop. In exchange, the farmer committed to respect the recommended agricultural practices and to sell all of its production to SOCTAM;

 

  • SOCTAM then organized the supply of these producers with certified seeds, fertilizers, pesticides and small equipment (tarpaulins for nurseries and driers, mini-pots for nurseries, watering cans, etc.);

 

  • Throughout the campaign, training sessions were organized on technical issues and technicians monitored the implementation of cultural operations.

 

  • Depending on the evolution of the crop, cash advances were granted to allow the recruitment of laborers for harvesting and post-harvest operations.

Production tabac madagascar-suivi technique planteur
Production tabac madagascar-labour parcelle
Production tabac madagascar-pépinières
Production tabac madagascar-champ de tabac burley
Production tabac madagascar-Séchoir tabac Burley
Production tabac madagascar-four paysan à tabac virginie
Production tabac madagascar-manoques burley
Production tabac madagascar-récolte tabac burley

Tobacco preparation by SITAM:

Second stage in the Malagasy tobacco production

SITAM is also a subsidiary of the Imperial Tobacco group in Madagascar. Sister of SOCTAM, she is also based in Mahajanga where its tobacco threshing unit is installed.

 

With the agreement of the OFMATA, SITAM buys tobacco produced by SOCTAM on its farms or collected from independent producers. SITAM stores the tobacco in its warehouses and prepares them for their utilization in the cigarette factories of Antsirabé. This preparation consists of:

 

  • the grading by quality of the tobacco leaves collected;

  • the separation of the stems and the strips (the parenchyma of the leaves);

  • the drying of the stems and strips to allow their storage over a long period;

  • their conditioning into C48 cardboxes.

Tobacco leaves' grading and re-grading:

The tobacco leaves are sent by SOCTAM, assembled into "manoques" and packaged in bales wrapped in hessian. On arrival at SITAM in Mahajanga, the bales are stored by farms or producers.

 

Like any agricultural product, tobacco is a raw material with a great variability in quality from one area to another, from one year to another, from one producer to another and even from one leaf stage to another. To reflect this diversity and to value as much as possible the work of producers, tobacco leaves are purchased according to a grid with many purchasing grades. An OFMATA’s officer made the grading of each bale of tobacco. This grading takes place concomitantly with the purchase process by SITAM.

 

These purchasing grades are too numerous for industrial processing. Their number shall be reduced to facilitate the utilization of the tobacco in cigarette making process and to ultimately obtain a product that offers stable sensations to consumers. Therefore, several purchasing grades with similar characteristics has been combined into industrial grades. This re-grading operation is carried out, bale to bale, internally by SITAM.

 

At the end of these operations, the tobacco bales are stored by grade until their processing.

Filière tabac Madagascar-Agréage tabacs
Filière tabac Madagascar-réagréage tabacs

Tobacco blending:

Once again, to reduce the variability of tobacco and to facilitate its utilization in cigarette making process, the industrial grades are blend to constitute pre-blends. The SITAM’s Blends Manager carries out this assembly, according to SACIMEM’s cigarettes specifications (or customer’s requests in the case of export sales), to stocks available and to the organoleptic characteristics (such as nicotine and sugar content, acidity...).

 

This assembly determines the number of bales of each grade per batch and the rate of introduction of the tobacco on the threshing line.

 

Blending is the first of the tobacco preparation operations.

Filière tabac Madagascar-intro manoques

Tobacco threshing:

The preparation of tobacco consists, schematically, in the separation of the stems from the parenchyma (strips) of the leaves, which are used separately in cigarette making process.

The SITAM preparation process was as follows:

 

  • Manual introduction of tobacco leaves, "manoque" by "manoque";

 

 

  • Opening of the "manoques" and humidification of tobacco leaves to allow their handling without breaking them;

 

 

  • Manual picking to remove moldy leaves, off grades tobacco and foreign bodies;

 

 

  • Threshing: SITAM had a 4-stage threshing line equipped with horizontal threshing units. At that stage, stems and strips are separated. The objective is to obtain the largest strips as possible and the highest strip rate as possible.

 

 

  • Redrying strips and stems separately. This operation makes possible the storage the tobacco over a long period while limiting the oxidation phenomena.

 

 

  • Packaging in 220 kg cardboxes. SITAM had hydraulic presses allowing packaging in C48 boxes meeting international standards.

 

As part of our intervention, we supervised the final assembly of the machines of the new threshing line that replaces the old redrying unit in manoque. We drafted the operational procedures, organized and trained the teams.

 

We ensured the operational management of this industrial unit for 5 years:

 

  • Definition and execution of investment plans and operating budgets;

  • Establishment and supervision of production planning and organization of maintenance operations;

  • Management of the shipments of finished products;

  • Administrative and financial management of the subsidiary;

  • Human Resource Management ;

  • Obtaining ISO 14001 certification.

Filière tabac Madagascar-ligne battage
Filière tabac Madagascar-sortie vibrant batteuse.jpg
Filière tabac Madagascar-intro tabacs
Filière tabac Madagascar-préparation tranches
Filière tabac Madagascar-picking
Filière tabac Madagascar-ligne picking
Filière tabac Madagascar-carton sortie presse
Filière tabac Madagascar-laboratoire qualité

Gestion de la production de tabac à Madagascar

Nous sommes intervenus pendant 5 ans à Madagascar pour le compte du Groupe Impérial Tobacco. Nous avons assurer la direction opérationnelle de la SOCTAM et de la SITAM. Ces deux filiales du groupe, de droit malgache, étaient en charge de la culture pour la première, et de la transformation pour la seconde, du tabac destiné à l'approvisionnement de la manufacture de cigarettes, le SACIMEM, située à Antsirabé.

La  production de tabac à Madagascar est contrôlée par L'Office Malgache des Tabacs (OFMATA) qui délivre annuellement des autorisations de culture, contrôle les flux de tabac et régule le fonctionnement de la filière tabac.  La SOCTAM produisait, directement sur ses fermes ou en collaboration avec un réseau de planteurs indépendant, la majeure partie des tabacs Flue Cured Virginie et du tabac Burley cultivés à Madagascar. L'OFMATA  encadrait la production de tabac bruns réalisée par des petits planteurs.

Le tabac malgache est cultivé, pendant la saison sèche, sur les plaines inondables au centre Ouest de l'Ile. Ces cultures souffrent donc le la sécheresse et de la chaleur, même avec irrigation, ce qui impacte les rendements des parcelles et la qualité du tabac récolté. La culture du tabac était cependant protégé par des mesures fiscales qui pénalisaient l'importation de cigarettes et l'incorporation de tabac importé dans les cigarettes produites à Madagascar.

La gestion de la production de tabacs malgaches  par la SOCTAM

La SOCTAM produisait le tabac nécessaire à l'approvisionnement de la manufacture de cigarette d'Antsirabé. Elle produisait du tabac blond Flue Cured Virginie, du tabac burley et un peu de tabac PX Claro (une variété qui s'apparente à du tabac brun). Ce tabac était cultivé sur des fermes gérées directement par la SOCTAM et par un réseau de petits producteurs. Quelques planteurs  cultivant des fermes de plusieurs dizaines d'hectares complétaient cette production.

La production de tabac sur les fermes de la SOCTAM :

La SOCTAM exploitait directement 11 fermes de 80 à 200 ha situées au Centre-Ouest de l’ile (Manpikony et Bévilany) et au Sud-Ouest (Minadrivazo) sur lesquelles elle produisait du tabac Burley, du Flue Cured Virginie et un peu de tabac brun (variété PX Claro).

Ces fermes étaient d'anciennes exploitations créées à l'époque de la colonisation française pour approvisionner les manufactures françaises de cigarettes en tabac brun. Elles sont implantées sur les plaines de débordement des cours d'eau (les baibohos) et sont inondées pendant la saison des pluies.  Ces inondations apportent la fertilité des sols grâce aux dépôts alluvionnaires. Mais elle sont aussi à l'origine de phénomènes d'érosion qui peuvent emporter  les parcelles situées sur les berges des cours d'eau et d'ensablement rendant impropres à la culture de larges étendues.

Le tabac, mais aussi toutes les autres cultures pratiquées sur ces plaines, est donc cultivées en contre saison. Les semis et les jeunes plants sont élevés en pépinières pendant la fin de la saison des pluies. ils sont repiqués en plein champs au fur et à mesure du retrait des eaux et les plantes se développent donc en saison sèche en puisant l'eau dans les sols. L'harmattan va contribuer à amplifier les conditions de chaleur et de sécheresse dans lesquelles le tabac doit se développer. Cela se traduit par des feuilles épaisses et arrivant difficilement à maturité.

Cette production de tabac en contre saison sur les sols de baibohos nécessitait le respect strict d’un calendrier précis pour les semis en pépinières et la transplantation afin que le développement des plants suive le retrait des eaux. Cela impliquait la mécanisation des opérations culturales, notamment la préparation des sols, l'épandage de la fumure de fond et les premiers sarclages.

 

Le recours à l’irrigation était indispensable pour assurer le développement des plants jusqu’à la maturité des feuilles malgré la sécheresse et la chaleur du climat.

Les fermes disposaient donc d'un important parc de matériel : tracteurs, motopompes et outils ainsi que des installations pour le séchage et le conditionnement des feuilles : séchoirs pour le burley et le tabac brun, fours à bois pour le Flue Cured Virginie, salles de fermentation, magasins de triage, presses manuelles et magasins de stockage.

Elles employaient une main d’œuvre importante notamment pour les soins en pépinières, les derniers sarclages, l’ébourgeonnage et l’écimage des plans, la récolte des feuilles et le triage après curing.

Le recours au bois pour le séchage du tabac Virginie, a motivé la plantation de plusieurs centaines d’hectares d’eucalyptus pour éviter de prélever le bois dans les forêts naturelles. Des travaux étaient aussi entrepris régulièrement pour améliorer les performances des foyers des fours à Virginie afin de réduire la consommation de bois de feu par tonne de tabac.

Dans ce cadre notre intervention a porté sur :

  • La définition et la mise en œuvre des plans de cultures annuels en fonction des besoins de la manufacture de cigarettes ;

  • la définition et le suivi des plans d’investissements et des budgets annuels ;

  • La définition et le suivi des indicateurs de performances. Le suivi et le respect des budgets et des couts de production ;

  • L’organisation et la supervision du travail et la formation des équipes. L'utilisation et l'entretien du matériel ;

  • L’approvisionnement des fermes en intrants et consommables ;

  • L’organisation et la supervision du travail, la formation des équipes et plus généralement la gestion des Ressources humaines ;

  • L’introduction de nouvelles pratiques agricoles, notamment en matière d'irrigation ;

  • L'amélioration de la qualité des tabacs produits et l'homogénéité des  grades lors du triage des feuilles de tabac ;

  • La mise en place de la logistique pour l’évacuation des balles de tabacs vers l’unité de battage à Mahajanga ;

  • La définition et la mise en œuvre des plans d’actions en matière de responsabilité sociale et environnementale.

Le développement de la production de tabac malgache en paysannat :

La SOCTAM a développé la production de tabac Flue Cured Virginie et surtout Burley en paysannat à travers un réseau de "planteurs Semi Industriels" (PSI) liés à la SOCTAM. Ces producteurs cultivaient le tabac sur leurs propres parcelles ou sur des parcelles mises à la disposition par la SOCTAM au sein des fermes quelle exploitait. Ces parcelles ne bénéficiaient pas d'une irrigation, à l'exception d'un apport d'eau manuel à l'arrosoir après la plantation. Elles étaient donc très dépendante des conditions climatiques et la rapidité de la préparation des sols et de la transplantation conditionnait la réussite de la culture.

 

Nous avons organisé l’appui à ces producteurs.

 

  • Une équipe de techniciens recensaient en début de campagne les paysans intéressés et leurs intentions de culture. Des contrats de cultures étaient signés entre la SOCTAM et chacun des producteurs. Ces contrats garantissait aux producteurs, l’achat de la totalité de leur production à des prix connus en début de campagne en échange d’un engagement du producteur respecter les itinéraires techniques recommandés et à livrer la totalité de leurs production à la SOCTAM ;

  • La SOCTAM organisait ensuite l’approvisionnement de ces producteurs en semences certifiées, en engrais, pesticides et petit matériel (bâches pour les pépinières et les séchoirs, mini-pots pour les pépinières, arrosoirs, ….) ;

  • Tout au long de la campagne, des formations étaient organisées par groupes de contact sur des thèmes techniques et les techniciens suivaient la réalisation des opérations culturales.

 

  • En fonction de l’évolution des parcelles, des avances en espèces étaient octroyées pour permettre le recrutement des manœuvres pour la récolte et les opérations post récoltes.

La préparation des tabacs par la SITAM : Deuxième étape de la filière de production des tabacs malgaches

La SITAM est une autre filiale du groupe Imperial Tobacco à Madagascar. Sœur de la SOCTAM elle est basée à Mahajanga où est iinstallée l'unité de battage du tabac qu'elle opère.

 

En accord avec l'OFMATA, la SITAM achète les tabacs produit par la SOCTAM dans ses fermes ou collectés par elle auprès des producteurs.  Elle les stocke dans ses magasins et les prépare en vue de leur utilisation dans les manufactures de cigarettes. Cette préparation consiste en  :

  • un classement des tabacs par qualité des tabacs collectés ;

  • une séparation des côtes et des strips (le parenchyme des feuilles) ;

  • un séchage des côtes et des strips pour permettre leur stockage sur une  longue durée ;

  • le conditionnement en cartons C48.

Agréage et réagréage des tabacs :

​Les feuilles de tabacs étaient expédiés par la SOCTAM manoquées et conditionnées en balles enveloppées de toile de jute. A l'arrivée à la SITAM à Mahajanga, les balles sont stockées par ferme ou producteurs.

Comme tout produit agricole, le tabac est une matière première dont la qualité est très variable ; d'un terroir à l'autre, d'une année à une autre, d'un producteur à un autre et même d'un étage foliaire à un autre. Pour refléter cette diversité et valoriser au mieux le travail des producteurs, les feuilles de tabacs sont achetées selon une grille qui compte de nombreux grades d'achat. La classification de chacune des balles est faite lors par un agent de l'OFMATA lors de l'agréage qui se déroulait concomitamment à l'achat proprement dit.

Ces grades d'achat sont trop nombreux pour une utilisation industrielle. Il faut donc en réduire le nombre pour faciliter la mise en œuvre des tabacs dans les manufactures de cigarettes  et obtenir, au final, un produit qui offre des sensations stables aux consommateurs.  Plusieurs grades d'achats aux caractéristiques proches sont assemblés en grades industriels. C'est l'opération de réagréage qui était réalisée, balle à balle, en interne par la SITAM. 

 

A l'issue de ces opérations les balles de tabac sont stockées par grade jusqu'à leur préparation

L'assemblage des tabacs :

Toujours dans l'optique de réduire la variabilité des tabacs et faciliter leur mise en œuvre dans les manufactures, les grades industriels sont assemblés pour constituer des préblends.  Cet assemblage était réalisé par le responsable des Blends en fonction, des caractéristiques des cigarettes de la SACIMEM (ou des demandes des clients dans le cas de vente à l'export), des stocks disponibles par grade et des caractéristiques organoleptiques (taux de nicotine, teneur en sucre, ...) de chacun des grades.

Cet assemblage déterminait le nombre de balles de chaque grade par tranche et le rythme d'introduction des manoques sur la ligne de battage.

L'assemblage est la première des opérations de préparation des tabacs.

Le battage des tabacs :

La préparation des tabacs consiste, de manière schématique en la séparation des côtes et des parenchymes (les strips) des feuilles qui sont mis en œuvre séparément dans les manufactures de cigarettes.

Le process de préparation à la SITAM était le suivant :

  • Introduction manuelle, manoque à manoque ;

  • Démanoquage et humidification pour permettre la manipulation des feuilles sans les briser ;

  • Picking manuel pour retirer les feuilles moisies, les tabacs Off Grades et les corps étrangers ;

  • Battage :  la SITAM disposait d'une ligne de battage à 4 étages équipés de batteuses horizontales. c'est à ce stade qu'a lieu la séparation des côtes et des strips. L'objectif est d'obtenir les strips les plus gros possible et le taux de strips le plus élevé possible.

  • Redrying  (séchage) des strips  et des côtes séparément. Cette opération permet de stocker les tabacs sur une longue durée en limitant les phénomènes d'oxydation.

  • Conditionnement en cartons de 220 kg. La SITAM disposait de presses hydraulique permettant le conditionnement en cartons C48 répondant aux standards internationaux.

Dans le cadre de notre intervention, nous avons supervisé le montage des machines de la nouvelle chaine de battage en remplacement de la vielle unité de redrying en manoques, rédigé les procédures opérationnelles, organisé et formé les équipes.

 

Nous avons assuré la direction opérationnelle de cette unité industrielle pendant 5 années :

 

  • Définition et exécution, des plans d’investissement et des budgets de fonctionnement ;

  • Établissement et supervision des plannings d’activité et organisation des opérations de maintenance ;

  • Gestion des expéditions des produits finis ;

  • Gestion administrative et financière de la société;

  • Gestion des Ressources Humaines ;

  • Obtention de la certification ISO 14001.

CONTACT