Tobacco production management in Laos

We worked in Laos for 5 years for Lao Tobacco Ltd: a joint venture between the Government of Laos and the Imperial Tobacco group.

 

Lao Tobacco produces cigarettes in its Vientiane factory made from Burley and Flue Cured Virginie tobacco grown in Laos by independent farmers.

 

We took over the management of the Leaf Department. We were responsible for the production of tobacco in Laos: from cropping by independent producers, to the purchase of tobacco leaves, their conditioning and their blending for the local production of cigarettes as well as the sale of tobacco to other subsidiaries of the ITG group or to customers outside the group.

 

We have also defined and implemented sustainability actions plan accordingly with the "Social Responsibility in Tobacco Production" program.

Tobacco growing with small farmers:

Culture Tabac Laos-champs flue cured virginie Pakkadin dis
Culture tabac Laos-Head of Farmer dans sa parcelle e tabac Burely

The tobacco is grown on almost the entire territory of Laos but it is more particularly present along the Mekong in South of Vientiane.

Tobacco is grown in rice fields during the dry season in the Mekong plain and along other main rivers. These lands are flooded during the rainy season and fertilized by the deposits of alluvium. Tobacco is sown in nurseries set in the villages when the rainy season comes to its end. The plants are transplanted in the fields after the rice has been harvested and as the water recedes. Producers irrigate their plots using small motor pumps.

 

A part of the tobacco grown in Laos was directly transformed by the farmers into “traditional cut rag”, collected by buyers and sold on local markets. Several companies including Lao Tobacco were supporting tobacco producers and purchasing their tobacco leaves. Finally, Vietnamese buyers and intermediaries from Thai companies were illegally buying a significant part of the Laotian tobacco production.

 

Lao Tobacco encouraged the organization of the producers to improve their support. Tobacco producers were invited to organize themselves into groups by affinity around a "head of farmers". It was informal groups but the local authorities recognized their existence. They acted as intermediaries for the supply of inputs to farmers and their training, for the organization of tobacco purchases as well as for the recovery of crops loans.

 

In this context of strong competition for the purchase of tobacco and because it was the company that invested the most in the technical support to producers, Lao Tobacco intended to secure its supplies by working only with producers who were members of an agreed group and by the establishment of written contracts validated by the administrative authorities. These contracts involved three parties:

 

  • The producers who commit to respect the agricultural practices recommended by Lao Tobacco and particularly the use of fertilizers and pesticides but also to deliver a volume of leaves defined from the beginning of the crop. Financial penalties were applied in case of incomplete delivery of the contractual volumes;

 

  • Lao Tobacco which undertakes to make available to producers, via their group, the inputs necessary for the cultivation of the areas declared in the contract as well as a close support by technicians. Lao Tobacco also commits to purchase the all-contractual volumes according to a grid defining the purchase prices for each quality grades. This grid was published by Lao Tobacco at the beginning of the crop after validation by the Ministry of Agriculture. The purchase of production beyond contractual volumes was not a contractual obligation of Lao Tobacco and producers could therefore sell it to other buyers;

 

  • The groups of farmers, which undertake the organization of the transport of inputs from the Lao Tobacco's warehouses to their members, and the transport of tobacco leaves to the purchasing centers set up by Lao Tobacco. They also guarantee the recovery of credits granted by Lao Tobacco to farmers through a system of third party guarantee between members of the same group. The groups were remunerated for the transport of tobacco and received a commission on the volumes of tobacco delivered.

We organized and trained a team of 35 technicians yearly. Each of them was responsible for supervising several groups. This task consisted into meetings with the "Head of Farmers" to organize the cropping, training sessions with the producers ' group and individual monitoring of the producers and their tobacco fields. Demonstration plots were also set up in collaboration with some producers.

 

Lao Tobacco organized the supply of seeds of improved varieties, fertilizers and insecticides as well as equipment for the construction of ovens (corrugated sheets and pipes) and dryers (tarpaulins) at the beginning of the crop. Payment was made on the yearly tobacco deliveries for inputs and over two years for materials for ovens and dryers.

Burley tobacco cultivation

Culture tabac Laos-plants tabac burley de 30 days-Thadeua
Culture de tabac Burley au Laos-Hinboun.jpg
Culture de tabac burley au Laos-récolte en tige-Hinbo
Culture de tabac burley au Laos-sêchage-Thadeua

Flue Cured Virginia growing

Culture de tabac virginie au Laos-suivi technique pépinières-Pakkbeng
Culture de tabac virginie au Laos-Pépinières-potting plants-Hinboun
Culture de tabac virginie au Laos-Billons et mulching sur jeunes plants-Ban Toug
Culture de tabac virginie au Laos-Pente tabac dans four-Nanam

Purchases of Laotian tobacco production:

Three purchasing centers (two in Vientiane and one in the south of the country) have been set up. Producers groups were required to deliver the production of their members within the limit of contractual volumes and according to a purchasing planning established jointly by Lao Tobacco and the heads of the groups. One group could make 3 to 4 deliveries per campaign.

 

Tobacco is bought in dry leaves, assembled into "manoques" and packed into unwrapped bales. The purchases take place in the presence of the "Head of Farmers" or his representative, the farmers and a representative of the Ministry of Agriculture. Tobacco is bought according to a purchasing grid defining the quality criteria and the price of each of the 36 grades of purchase. All of the Heads of farmers discussed this grid with at the beginning of the crop during a starting meeting. The Ministry of Agriculture then validated it.

 

During purchases, tobacco bales are weighed individually and an agent from Lao Tobacco classified them according to the purchasing grid. Tobacco from a group is paid by bank check to the "Head of Farmers" within 48 hours. Lao Tobacco deducted the credits and advances granted to each member. After he get the cash from the bank, the Head of Farmers proceeds to the payment of each farmer. To avoid conflicts between members of a group, Lao Tobacco published a summary of tobacco purchases by producer with the number of bales and weight by grade, the total value of the tobacco purchased, the deductions made and the net payable.

 

Monitoring of purchases, invoicing and payment to producers as well as monitoring of stocks of tobacco to be sold to Lao Tobaccc were managed via a computerized database developed during our intervention.

Production tabac au Laos-pressage des manoques en balles nues-Nanam
Production tabac au Laos-Tabac virginie en balles nues-Hinboun
Production tabac au Laos-Chargement de tabac
Production tabac au Laos-achat tabacs-site de Vientiane
Production tabac au Laos-achat tabacs-site de Vientiane-pesée
Production tabac au Laos-achat tabacs-déchargement par producteurs sur site de Vientiane

Processing and conditioning of Laotian tobacco:

After the purchase, the bales were stored, by grade, in racks at Lao Tobacco's warehouses in Vientiane.

 

Grades were then assembled according to customer specifications and the tobaccos were processed as quickly as possible to avoid degradation of the quality of the leaves.

 

The process in Vientiane was classical and consisted in a double tipping, the separation of the stems from parenchyma and stabilization through a deep drying. Lao Tobacco owned a hand-stripping processing line in Vientiane, on which a significant part of the production was processed.

The processing of the rest of the production was subcontracted to threshing units located in Luang-Prabang, in Vietnam or in Thailand.

 

During our mission, the Vientiane unit was upgraded and was certified ISO 14001 and OHSAS 18001. We also were in charge of:

Production tabac au Laos-Handstripping
  • The definition and execution of investment plans and operating budgets;

 

  • The establishment and supervision of production plan and maintenance schedule for the Vientiane unit;

 

  • The negotiation and supervision of threshing subcontracts;

 

  • The management of the utilization of the tobacco purchased according to the needs of the Vientiane cigarette factory and other subsidiaries within the group;

 

  • The search for customers outside the group, the negotiation and execution of sales contracts;

 

  • The management of the teams assigned to the Vientiane unit;

 

  • The monitoring of production costs.

Production tabac au Laos-lignes handstripping Lao Tobacco
Production tabac au Laos-ligne epointage manoques
Production tabac au Laos-ligne conditionnement Lao Tobacco

Gestion de la production de tabac au Laos

Nous sommes intervenus au Laos pendant 5 années au sein de Lao Tobacco Ltd, une joint-venture entre le Gouvernement du Laos et le groupe Impérial Tobacco.

 

Lao Tobacco produisait des cigarettes dans sa manufacture de Vientiane à partir de tabac Burley et Flue Cured Virginie cultivé au Laos par des agriculteurs indépendants.

 

Nous avons assuré la Direction du Leaf Department et nos responsabilités portaient sur la gestion de la production de tabac au Laos : depuis la culture par des producteurs indépendants, l'achat et la préparation des tabacs, leur utilisation pour la production de cigarettes localement ainsi que la vente de tabacs à d'autres filiales du groupe ITG ou à des clients hors groupe.

 

Nous avons aussi mis en œuvre les actions entrant dans le cadre du programme de durabilité "Social Responsibility in Tobacco Production"

La culture du tabac en paysannat :

La culture du tabac au Laos est pratiquée sur la quasi-totalité du territoire du Laos mais c'est surtout le long du Mékong au Sud fe Vientiane qu'elle est la plus présente.

Le tabac est cultivée en contre saison, dans les rizières de la plaine du Mékong et sur les terres inondées le long des principaux cours d’eau sur les terrains fertilisés par les alluvions déposées par les crues. Les semis sont réalisés en pépinières dans les villages en fin de la saison des pluies. Les plants sont repiqués après la récolte du riz et au fur et à mesure de la décrue.  Les producteurs irriguent leurs parcelles à l'aide de petites motopompes entrainées par des motoculteurs travaillant à poste fixe.

 

Une partie du tabac produit est transformée par les producteurs en « cut rag traditionnel » collectés par des acheteurs et vendus sur les marchés locaux. Plusieurs compagnies dont Lao Tobacco encadraient les producteurs de tabac et achetaient légalement leurs productions. Enfin des acheteurs vietnamiens et des intermédiaires de sociétés thaïlandaises achetaient illégalement une partie non négligeable de la production de tabac laotiens.

 

Lao Tobacco encourageait l'organisation des producteurs de coton pour faciliter les relations avec eux. Les producteurs de tabac étaient invités à s'organiser en groupements par affinité autour d’un « head of farmers ». Ces groupements étaient "informels" mais leur existence étaient reconnue par les autorités administratives locales. Ils servaient d’intermédiaire pour l’organisation de l’approvisionnement en intrants des producteurs et leurs formations, pour l’organisation des achats de tabacs ainsi que pour le recouvrement des crédits de campagne.

 

Dans le contexte de compétition exacerbée pour l'achat du tabac et alors qu’elle était la compagnie qui investissait le plus dans l’appui technique aux producteurs, Lao Tobacco sécurisait ses approvisionnements en ne travaillant qu'avec des producteurs membres d'un groupement agréé par  elle et par la signature de contrats écrits et validés par les autorités administratives. ces contrats impliquaient :

  • Les producteurs qui s’engageaient à respecter les itinéraires techniques préconisés par Lao Tobacco et notamment les engrais et pesticides utilisés et sur les quantités à livrer. Des pénalités financières étaient appliquées en cas de livraison incomplète des volumes contractuel ;

  • Lao Tobacco qui s’engageait à mettre à la disposition des producteurs, via leur groupement, les intrants nécessaires à la culture des surfaces déclarées dans le contrat ainsi que l’appui régulier de techniciens. Lao Tobacco s’engageait aussi à acheter les volumes contractuels dans leur totalité selon une grille définissant les prix d’achat pour chacun des grades. Cette grille était publiée en début de campagne après validation par le Ministère de l’Agriculture. L’achat de la production au-delà des volumes contractuels n’était pas une obligation contractuelle de Lao Tobaco et, de ce fait, les producteurs pouvaient donc la vendre à d’autres acheteurs ;

  • Les groupements qui s’engageaient à assurer le transport des intrants depuis les magasins de Lao Tobaccco jusqu’aux exploitations de leurs membres, à organiser le transport du tabac jusqu’aux centres d’achat mis en place par Lao Tobacco et à garantir le recouvrement des crédits consentis par Lao Tobacco à aux paysans via la mise en œuvre d’une caution solidaire entre membres d’un même groupement. Les groupements étaient rémunérés pour le transport du tabac et percevaient une commission sur les volumes de tabacs livrés.

Une équipe de 35 techniciens a été constituée et formée chaque année. Chacun d’entre eux avait la charge du suivi de plusieurs groupements. Cette tâche consistait à des réunions avec les « Head of Farmers » pour organiser la campagne agricole, à des réunions de formation avec l’ensemble des producteurs d’un groupement et à un suivi individuel des producteurs et de leurs parcelles. Des parcelles de démonstration étaient aussi mises en place en collaboration de producteurs.

Lao Tobacco fournissait, les semences de variétés améliorées, les engrais et les insecticides a crédit ainsi que le matériel pour la construction des fours (tôles et tuyauterie) et des séchoirs (bâches). Le recouvrement se faisait sur les livraisons de tabacs en un an pour les intrants et sur deux ans pour les matériels des fours et séchoirs.

Culture de tabac Burley

Culture de tabac Flue Cured Virginie

Achat de la production de tabacs laotiens :

Trois centres d’achats (deux à Vientiane) et un dans le sud du pays ont été mis en place. Les groupements de producteurs étaient tenus de venir y livrer la production de leurs membres dans la limite des volumes contractuels et selon un programme d’achat établi conjointement par Lao Tobacco et les responsables des groupements.  Un même groupement pouvait effectuer 3 à 4 livraisons par campagne.

 

Les tabacs étaient achetés en feuilles sèches, manoquées et conditionnées en balles nues. Les achats se déroulaient en présence du « Head of Farmers » ou de son représentant, des paysans qui le souhaitaient et d’un représentant du Ministère de l’Agriculture. Les tabacs étaient achetés selon une grille d'achat définissant les critères qualité et le prix de chacun des 36 grades d'achat. Cette grille était présentée et discutée avec l'ensemble des Heads of farmers lors d'une réunion de début de campagne. Elle était ensuite validée par le Ministère de l'Agriculture.

 

Lors des achats les balles étaient pesées individuellement et un agent de Lao Tobacco  les classait selon la grille d'achat. Les tabacs d'un même groupement étaient payés par chèque au nom du « Head of Farmers » dans un délai de 48 heures déduction faite des crédits et avances consenties à chacun des membres. Il effectuait ensuite le paiement individuel de chacun des membres. pour éviter les litiges, Lao Tobacco éditait une liste récapitulative des tabacs achetés par producteurs avec le nombre de balles et le poids par grade, la valeur totale du tabac acheté, les retenues effectuées et le net à payer.

 

Le suivi des achats, la facturation et le paiement des producteurs ainsi que le suivi des stocks était gérés via une base de données informatisée mise au point lors de notre intervention.

Traitement et conditionnement des tabacs laotiens :

Après achat, les balles étaient stockées, par grade, en racks dans les magasins de Lao Tobacco à Vientiane.

 

Les grades étaient ensuite assemblés en fonction des spécifications des clients et les tabacs étaient traités aussi rapidement que possible pour éviter une dégradation de la qualité des feuilles.

 

Classiquement, ce traitement consistait en un épointage, une séparation des côtes et des parenchymes et une stabilisation dans un redryer. Lao Tobacco disposait pour cela d’une unité de hand-stripping à Vientiane sur laquelle une partie importante de la production était traitée.

Le processing du reste de la production était sous-traitée à des unités de battage implantées à Luang-Prabang, au Vietnam ou en Thaïlande.

 

Au cours de notre mission, l’unité de Vientiane a été modernisée et elle a été certifiée ISAO et OHSAS 18001. Nous avons aussi assuré :

  • La définition et l’exécution des plans d’investissement et des budgets de fonctionnement ;

  • L’établissement et la supervision des plannings d’activités et de maintenance de l’unité de Vientiane ;

  • La négociation et la supervision des contrats de sous-traitance ;

  • La gestion de l’utilisation des tabacs en fonction des besoins de la manufacture de cigarettes de Vientiane et des autres filiales du groupe ;

  • La recherche de clients hors groupe, la négociation et l’exécution de contrats de vente ;

  • La gestion des Ressources Humaines affectés à l’unité de Vientiane ;

  • La gestion des coûts de production.

CONTACT