Support to the development of aromatic cocoa production in Ivory Coast

As part of our intervention in Ivory Coast for the French chocolate maker CEMOI, we supervised during three years the production of aromatic cocoa for its Ivorian subsidiary. The objective was to organize and develop, in partnership with cooperatives, the production of cocoa of superior quality with a particular aromatic profile offering fruity and floral notes. The program was based on the control of post-harvest operations (fermentation and drying). These operations were carried out in cocoa processing centers built and managed by CEMOI's teams. Our mission consisted in:

 

  • Supervising the operation and maintenance of the centers, to master the compliance with quality criteria and to manage the teams in place (58 technicians);

 

  • Managing the relations with cooperatives. More particularly, in order to ensure sufficient supply of centers to fulfill our customers’ orders, we managed the granting and recovery of cash advances for cocoa purchase as well as the maintenance of equipment and fleet of transport vehicles;

 

  • The diffusion of Good Agriculture Practices integrating agroforestry;

 

  • Organizing the technical support (training, access to inputs, etc.) of the producers and cooperative managers;

 

  • Supporting Cemoi's team for the relations with customers in relations with CSR activities;

 

  • The representation and promotion of the program in Ivory Coast.

 

Production cacao Côte d'Ivoire-Parcelles taillée-Djangobo
Production cacao Côte d'Ivoire-Cacaoyère à Adjaméné

Demonstrate that it was possible to produce "fine" cocoa in Ivory Coast if the fermentation of the beans and their drying is under control:

CEMOI group, which has been closely linked to the Ivory Coast for a long time, has always promoted the production of high quality cocoa. Such cocoa combining specific aromatic profile and a strict compliance with physico-chemical and sanitary standards is used for fine chocolates market which allows to pay a higher price to the producers.

The production of such cocoa requires the control of harvesting, fermentation and drying of the cocoa beans. Based on the experience acquired with KAOKA in Ecuador, CEMOI initiated the production of an aromatic cocoa under the “Fresh Cocoa” project. This project was based on four principles:
 

  • The collection of fresh cocoas beans;

  • Their fermentation and drying in processing centers under CEMOI's control;

  • A technical support to producers;

  • A collaboration between the producers who ensure the harvesting and shelling operations, the cooperatives which collect the fresh beans from their members and CEMOI which built and operate the centers where its agents realize the fermentation and drying of the beans for the account of cooperatives.

 

Quickly joined in 2010 by two other chocolate makers within PACTS (Processor Alliance for Cocoa Traceability and Sustainability), a "fine cocoa" production chain was developed. In 2016, 17 fermentation centers collaborated with thirty-two cooperatives that supplied them with fresh beans. Aromatic cocoa production reached 3,000 tons.

An eighteenth center was set up in 2014 on a similar model by CEMOI in collaboration with the Belgian chocolate maker PURATOS.

Stay close to cocoa producers:

The development of the aromatic cocoa production chain required the involvement and active participation of producers. Indeed as selling fresh beans goes against habits, it was necessary to convince producers of the interests of such change. In addition to a price at least 20% higher than the official purchase price, the sale of fresh beans enabled producers to get their money faster after harvesting, to reduce post-harvest works and to '' eliminate the risk of loss during fermentation and drying operations. Technical support for planters, access to inputs and support for their cooperatives completed the package of services delivered by PACTS.

In return for the significant premium paid for the fresh cocoa, the producers had to respect the recommended technical itinerary and particularly:
 

  • To harvest the pods at right maturity and break pods within a maximum of 7 days. Only healthy pods could be used for fresh cocoa;

  • To sort out the beans when breaking pods. The black beans and impurities should be removed. Beans have to be detached from the rachis.

To strengthen relations with producers, an agronomist was assigned to each processing centers. His roles were to:

  • Identify producers and their plots (using GPS devices);

  • Monitor cropping operations, advise producers and supervise their training to Good Agricultural Practices through farmers school fields;

  • Organize the production of improved variety cocoa plants;

  • Select cocoa trees in farmers' plots that demonstrate interesting genetic potential, as for their potential of production, their resistance to diseases and the aromatic profile of their beans. These “elite” trees were used to create a clonal garden in each center. The objective of these libraries was to preserve the diversity of the genetic heritage of the Ivorian orchard and to provide the base for a multiplication of these clones by grafting. This action was stopped following the ban of cocoa grafting in Ivory Coast.

Production cacao Côte Ivoire affiche plantation-PACTS Niafuta
Production cacao CôteIvoire-Technicien et planteur
formation producteurs cacao-centre Puratos Adjaméné
Production cacao Côte Ivoire-pépinière centre CEMOI de Zegban

Quickly transport fresh beans toward centers: a crucial factor for the success of an aromatic cocoa production chain:

It is essential that the fresh beans arrive at the processing center no later than 12 hours after the pods were broken. This implies that the cooperatives have a fleet of vehicles (3-ton trucks, scooters, motorcycles, tractors ...) suitable for picking up the beans in the villages. A permanent dialogue between the agents of the processing centers, cocoa producers and cooperatives was necessary to plan the collection of the beans at the right time.

The collection of fresh beans takes place 3 days a week. Centers provided bags used exclusively for the transport of fresh cocoa. Each bag was identified with the farmer's name and code. Farmers broke the pods in the morning and the bags were sent to collection point at the end of the morning. They were then collected by the cooperative and sent to the fermentation center in the afternoon.

Thus, the centers received  the beans within the day. A representative of the cooperative and planters accompany the truck.


Soon at arrival, a visual control was carried out to check that the beans were conformed to the quality criteria. These were clearly explained to the producers from the beginning of project.


Beans were then weighed in the presence of a commercial agent of the cooperative. He issued the receipt that allowed producers to be paid. PACTS ensured by granting revolving cash advances to cooperatives, that producers were paid on the day of delivery and at the fixed price posted in the centers..

production cacao aromatique Côte d'Ivoire-récolte des cabosses
Production cacao aromatique Côte d'Ivoire-Chantier ecabossage
Production de cacao aromatique en Côte d'Ivoire-séparartion fèves des rachis
production cacao aromatique Côte d'Ivoire-information aux producteurs

The fermentation centers: the heart of this aromatic cocoa production chain:

Once weighed, the beans are unloaded into wooden boxes. The fermentation begins. It will conduct to the elimination of the pulp around the beans and induce the development of the aromatic precursors. Process will last 6 days and will have 2 distinct phases:

  • an anaerobic fermentation that lasts 48 hours during which the sugars contained in the pulp turn into alcohol. At the end of this first phase, the beans are transferred to a second box below. This transfer is accompanied by a stirring. Stirring is essential as it will help the oxygenation of the mass of beans. Oxygen will stop the alcoholic fermentation;

  • an acetic fermentation will transform the alcohol into vinegar (acetic acid). During this reaction, the temperature of the mass rises high. Monitoring the temperature curve during fermentation is one of the criteria for verifying that the process runs correctly. Acetic fermentation must take place under aerobic conditions. To ensure good oxygenation of the whole mass of beans, a third brewing takes place on the fifth day morning. The beans are transferred to a third and last box located below the previous box to help that stirring.

On the morning of the seventh day, the box is emptied and the beans are spread in a thin layer on racks under tarpaulin solar dryers, specially designed to create a venturi flow under the tarpaulins and speed up the drying of the beans. The drying may last between 7 to15 days depending on weather conditions. When the air humidity is high, especially in the rainy season, the beans are transferred to a hot air dryer. Throughout the drying, the beans are turned over and rubbed to remove impurities, pulp residues, flat or too small beans, avoid the formation of "beans clusters" and the development of mold.

Production de cacao Aromatique Côte d'Ivoire-réception  fèves fraiches
Production cacao Côte d'Ivoire-réception fèves fraiches-Toliasso
Prodction caco Côte Ivoire-réception fèves fraiche-Wagana
Production cacao Côte d'Ivoire
Production cacao aromatique Côte Ivoire-fèves en caisse de fermentation
Production cacao aromatique Côte d'Ivoire-caisse fermentation stade 1
Production cacao Côte d'Ivoire- Brasse des fèves en fermentation
Production cacao Côte d'Ivoire-fin fermentation fèves

Set up important infrastructures to master the fermentation and drying of cocoa beans:

The organization of this aromatic cocoa sector required the building of significant infrastructures. A typical cacao fermentation center included:
 

  •  a hangar housing the reception area;

  • 12 series of 3 cascades with a capacity of 800 kg each, which gave each center a maximum processing capacity of 9,600 kg, three times a week. That is nearly 29 tons of fresh beans per week;

  • 8 to 10 solar dryers;
  • a hot air dryer linked to a wood burner;

  • 2 cocoa stores and a store for fertilizers and phytosanitary products;
  • a power generator;

  • weighing and quality control equipment;
  • a meeting room for planters and toilets. Some centers were equipped with a water forage or a well supplying a water tower accessible to the surrounding populations;

  • areas planted with trees (Acacias and eucalyptus) to supply the hot air dryer in firewood.
production cacao Côte d'Ivoire-Centre de fermentation de Songan
proucion cacao Cote d'Ivoire- séchoirs Toliesso
production cacao Côte 'Ivoire-Sechage fèves
production cacao Côte d'Ivoire-Séchage à air chaud

Quality controls and traceability complete the organization of the aromatic cocoa supply chain:

After drying, a quality control of each batch was carried out. It consists of :
 

  • A control of the smell, color and taste of dried beans;

  • A measure of the beans count;

 

  • A cutting test to determine the rates of well-fermented beans, slate and purple beans, moldy, moth-damaged, broken or flat beans.


The beans were then put in hessian bags and stored in the center warehouse before shipment, by the cooperative to the CEMOI purchasing center.


A follow-up sheet accompanies the batch throughout the process. The dates of each operations as well as the parameters are noted. It guarantees the traceability of the cocoa produced. PACTS was able to provide its customers with a list of the planters who had supplied the cocoa loaded in each container shipped.

cacao aromatique Côte d'Ivoire-Test de coupe.

Appui à l'organisation d'une filière de production de cacao aromatique en Côte d'Ivoire

Intervention pour le compte du Chocolatier français CEMOI pendant 3 années au sein de sa filiale ivoirienne. L'objectif était d'organiser et développer en partenariat avec des coopératives, une filière capable de produire un cacao possédant un profil aromatique propre avec des notes fruitées et florales. Le programme reposait sur la maitrise des opérations post-récolte (fermentation et séchage) réalisées dans des centres de traitement du cacao construit et géré par des équipes de CEMOI. Notre mission a consisté à :

  • Superviser le fonctionnement et la maintenance des centres. Garantir le respect des critères de qualité et gérer les équipes en place (58 personnes) ;

  • Gérer les relations avec les coopératives et notamment l’octroi et le recouvrement des avances pour le paiement du cacao et l’achat ou l’entretien de matériel roulant pour garantir un approvisionnement suffisant des centres pour honorer les commandes de nos clients ;

  • Diffuser des itinéraires techniques adaptés intégrant le recours à l’agroforesterie ;

  • Organiser l’appui technique (formation, accès aux intrants,…) aux producteurs et l’accompagnement des cadres des coopératives ;

  • Appuyer les relations du service commercial avec les clients ;

  • Assurer la représentation et la promotion du programme en Côte d’Ivoire.

Démontrer qu'il est possible de produire du cacao "fin" en Côte d'Ivoire à condition de maitriser les opérations de fermentation et de séchage des fèves :

Le groupe CEMOI qui est depuis toujours très lié à la Côte d’Ivoire, a toujours milité pour la production dans ce pays d'un cacao de qualité supérieure. Ce cacao alliant des propriétés aromatiques à un respect strict des normes physico-chimiques et sanitaires peut être utilisé pour produire des chocolats fins ce qui permet de verser aux producteurs une rémunération plus importante.

La production d’un tel cacao passe par le contrôle des opérations de récolte et par la maitrise parfaite du processus de fermentation et de séchage. En se basant sur l’expérience acquise avec KAOKA en Equateur, CEMOI a initié le projet « Cacao Frais ». Ce projet correspond à l'organisation d'une filière de production de cacao aromatique. Elle repose sur quatre principes :

  • La collecte de fèves fraiches ;

  • Leur fermentation et leur séchage sur des centres de traitement ;

  • La fourniture d'un appui technique aux producteurs ;

  • Une collaboration entre les producteurs qui assurent les opérations de récoltes et d’écabossage, les coopératives qui collectent les fèves fraiches auprès de leurs adhérents et CEMOI qui a construit un centre sur lequel ses agents supervisent la fermentation et le séchage des fèves pour le compte des coopératives.

 

Rapidement rejoint, en 2010 par deux autres chocolatiers au sein de PACTS (Processor Alliance for Cocoa Traceability and Sustainibility), c'est une véritable filière "cacao fin" qui s'est développée. En 2016, ce sont 17 centres de fermentations qui fonctionnaient en collaboration avec trente-deux coopératives  qui alimentaient les centres en fèves fraiches. La production de cacao aromatique atteignait 3 000 tonnes.

Un dix-huitième centre a été monté en 2014 sur un schéma similaire par CEMOI en collaboration avec le chocolatier belge PURATOS.

Rester proche des producteurs de cacao :

Le développement de la filière de production de cacao aromatique nécessitait l'implication et la participation active des producteurs.  Vendre les fèves fraiches allant à l'encontre des habitudes, il fallait sensibiliser les producteurs pour les convaincre des intérêts d'une telle pratique.  En plus d’un prix supérieur d’au moins 20% au prix d’achat officiel, le projet Cacao Frais permettait aux producteurs de percevoir l’argent du cacao plus rapidement après la récolte, de réduire les temps de travaux post récolte et d’éliminer les risques de pertes lors des opérations de fermentation et de séchage. Un appui technique aux planteurs, l’accès aux intrants et un accompagnement de leur coopératives complétait le package de services offerts aux producteurs par PACTS.

En contrepartie de la prime significative versée pour le cacao frais livré, les producteurs devaient respecter l’itinéraire technique recommandé et notamment :

  • La récolte des cabosses à maturité et leur écabossage dans un délai maximum de 7 jours. Seules les cabosses saines sont utilisées pour ce cacao ;

  • le tri des fèves lors de l’écabossage. Lors de cette opération, les fèves noires et les impuretés sont écartées et les fèves sont détachées du rachis.

Pour renforcer les liens avec les producteurs, un agronome était affecté sur chacun des centres de traitement du cacao pour :

  • Identifier les producteurs et géolocaliser leurs parcelles ;

  • Suivre les opérations culturales dans les vergers, conseiller les producteurs et superviser leurs formations aux Bonnes Pratiques Agricoles au travers de champs écoles animés par des paysans relais ;

  • Organiser la production de plants de cacaoyers de variété améliorée ;

  • Sélectionner, dans les vergers des producteurs, des cacaoyers présentant un potentiel génétique intéressant, tant du point de vue de leur production, de leur résistance aux maladies que du profil aromatique des fèves. Ces arbres «élites» étaient utilisés pour créer un jardin clonal dans chaque centre. L’objectif de ces génothèques était à la fois de préserver la diversité du patrimoine génétique du verger ivoirien et de fournir le matériel pour une multiplication de ces clones par greffage. Cette action a été stoppée en suite à l’interdiction du greffage des cacaoyers en Côte d’Ivoire.

Collecter rapidement les fèves fraiches : un facteur crucial de l'organisation d'une filière cacao aromatique :

Il est primordial que les fèves fraiches arrivent au centre de traitement au plus tard dans les 12 heures qui suivent l'écabossage. Cela implique que les coopératives disposent d'un parc de véhicules (camions 3 tonnes, triporteurs, motos, tracteurs) adapté pour aller chercher les fèves dans les villages et la mise en place d'un  dialogue permanent entre les agents des centres de traitement du cacao, les producteurs de cacao et les coopératives pour établir le planning de collecte.

 

La collecte des fèves fraiches avait lieu 3 jours par semaine dans  des sacs mis à disposition par les centres et utilisés exclusivement pour le transport du cacao frais.

Chaque sac est identifié avec le nom et le code du planteur. L’écabossage était fait le matin et les sacs étaient acheminés au point de collecte en fin de matinée. Ils étaient collectés par la coopérative et évacués vers le centre de fermentation dans l’après-midi. Ce sont donc des fèves blanches du jour qui sont réceptionnées. Un représentant de la coopérative ainsi que certains planteurs accompagnaient les sacs. A réception, un contrôle de la qualité visuelle des fèves était effectué pour vérifier qu'elles étaient conformes aux critères définis et clairement expliqués aux producteurs. Elles sont alors pesées en présence d’un agent commercial de la coopérative. C’est lui qui établissait le reçu qui permet aux producteurs d’être payés. PACTS s’assurait, notamment en accordant des avances revolving aux coopératives, que les producteurs étaient payés le jour de la livraison au prix fixé et affiché dans les centres.

Les centres de fermentation au cœur de l'organisation de cette filière cacao aromatique :

Une fois pesées, les fèves étaient transvasées dans des caisses en bois. La fermentation qui va permettre l’élimination de la pulpe qui entoure les fèves et voir l’élaboration des précurseurs aromatiques commence. Elle va durer 6 jours et comportera 2 phases distinctes :

  • une fermentation anaérobique qui dure 48 heures au cours de laquelle les sucres contenus dans la pulpe sont transformés en alcool. A l’issue de cette première phase, les fèves sont transférées dans une deuxième caisse installée en contrebas. Ce transfert s’accompagne d’un brassage qui est important car il va favoriser l’oxygénation de la masse qui va stopper la fermentation alcoolique ;

  • une fermentation acétique va transformer l’alcool produit en vinaigre. Au cours de cette réaction la température de la masse s’élève fortement. Le suivi de la courbe de température au cours de la fermentation est l’un des critères permettant de vérifier le bon déroulement du processus. La fermentation acétique se fait en conditions aérobies. Pour garantir une bonne oxygénation de l’ensemble de la masse, un troisième brassage a lieu au matin du cinquième jour. Les fèves sont transférées dans une troisième et dernière caisse située en contrebas de la caisse précédente.

Au matin du septième jour, la caisse est vidée et les fèves sont étalées en couche mince sur des claies dans des séchoirs solaires bâchés, spécialement dessinés pour créer un effet venturi sous les bâches et accélérer le séchage des fèves. Celui-ci dure entre 7 et 15 jours selon les conditions climatiques. Lorsque l’humidité de l’air est élevée, notamment en saison des pluies, les fèves étaient transférées sur un séchoir à air chaud. Tout au long du séchage les fèves sont retournées et frottées pour éliminer les impuretés, les restes de pulpes, les fèves plates ou trop petites, éviter la formation de « crabots » et l’apparition de moisissures à la surface des fèves.

Mettre en place des infrastructures pour contrôler la fermentation et le séchage des fèves de cacao :

L'organisation de cette filière cacao aromatique a nécessité la mise en place d'infrastructures importantes. Un centre de traitement type comportait en effet :

 

  • un hangar abritant l’aire de réception ;

  • 12 séries de 3 caisses en cascades d'une capacité de 800 kg chacune. ce qui conférait à un centre une capacité maximum de traitement de 9 600 kg, trois fois par semaine. Soit près de 29 tonnes de fèves fraiches par semaine ;

  • 8 à 10 séchoirs solaires ;

  • un séchoir à air chaud alimenté par un brûleur à bois ;

  • 2 magasins cacao et un magasin pour les engrais et produits phytosanitaires ;

  • un groupe électrogène ;

  • le matériel de pesage et de contrôle de la qualité des fèves ;

  • une salle de réunion pour les planteurs et des sanitaires. Certains centres étaient équipés d'un forage ou d'un puits alimentant un château d'eau accessible aux populations environnantes ;

  • des surfaces plantées en bois de feu pour alimenter le séchoir à air chaud.

Contrôles qualité et traçabilité complètent l'organisation de la filière cacao aromatique :

A l’issue du séchage un contrôle qualité était effectué. Il consiste en :

 

  • un contrôle de l’odeur, de la couleur et du goût des fèves ;

  • une mesure du grainage du lot ;

  • un test de coupe pour déterminer les taux de fèves bien fermentées, de fèves ardoisées ou violettes , de fèves moisies, mitées, brisées ou plates.

 

Les fèves étaient alors ensachées en sacs de jute et entreposées dans le magasin du centre avant expédition, par la coopérative vers le centre d’achat de CEMOI.

Une fiche de suivi accompagne le lot tout au long du process sur laquelle sont notés les dates des opérations ainsi que les paramètres relevés. Elle permet de garantir la traçabilité du cacao produit et PACTS était en mesure de fournir à ses clients, la liste des planteurs qui avaient fourni le cacao chargé dans chaque camion expédié.

CONTACT