Madagascar - Technical Due Diligence
Development of the local sourcing network of two companies -  du Medical plants extract sector

Fambolena carried out a technical due diligence mission on behalf of the Land Degradation Neutrality Fund (LDN) in the field of plant extracts. Our task was to assess the feasibility of the local sourcing development plans of two companies based in Fianarantsoa. ​

 

The first company extracts artemisinin from the leaves of Artemisia Annua. The dry Artemisia leaves are purchased from small producers who grow it in the off-season in the regions of Haute Matsiatra and Amoron I Mania. This company wants to double the volumes collected within five years. ​

 

After a documentary review to gather as much data as possible on the cultivation of Artemisia, on the company in question, on the agricultural systems in the regions concerned and on the climatic conditions, we went to the field to meet the teams of the society as well as producers and representatives of the rural communities in which they operate. The company is well established and is very present with the producers with whom it has been collaborating for more than 10 years. We spent 4 days to visit all the production areas except for the marginal area in the far south of the island. We met relay farmers in charge of close supervision of producers, visited nurseries and met nurserymen, held meetings with producers and interviewed about twenty of them and interviewed several heads of Fokontani and mayors of rural communes. At the end of this work, we were able to assess the strengths and weaknesses of the development plan presented by the company, highlight the main risks and make proposals to limit their potential impacts. In particular to reduce the dependence of the development plan on the vagaries of the weather.

The second company produces quinine sulphate from Cinchona bark. These barks are currently imported from RD Congo and the company wishes to develop local production around Fianarantsoa. This production must be based on an industrial-type plantation managed directly by the company and by a network of small producers. ​


Cinchona cultivation is largely unknown in Madagascar. There was an attempted introduction to a site near Antananarivo during colonial times and the company is still in the early stages of developing local Cinchona bark production.

We were able to meet the company's teams, visit nurseries where the young Cinchona seedlings are raised, visit the two areas in which the first planting trials were settled and meet several of the farmers who carried them out. At the end of which we assessed the feasibility of developing a local supply, analyzed the potential impacts in terms of soil protection as well as on biodiversity and issued recommendations to optimize the chances of success and limit the potential negative impacts.

Madagascar - Due Diligence Technique -
Développement du sourcing de deux entreprises du secteur des plantes médicinales

Fambolena a réalisé une mission de due diligence technique pour le compte du Fonds de neutralité de la dégradation des terres (LDN) dans le domaine des extraits de plantes. Notre tâche consistait à évaluer la faisabilité des plans de développement de l'approvisionnement local de deux entreprises basées à Fianarantsoa.


La première entreprise extrait l'artémisinine des feuilles d'Artemisia Annua. Les feuilles sèches d'Artemisia sont achetées à des petits producteurs qui la cultivent en contre-saison dans les régions de Haute Matsiatra et Amoron I Mania. Cette entreprise souhaite doubler les volumes collectés d'ici cinq ans.


Après une revue documentaire visant à recueillir des données aussi complètes que possible sur la culture de l'Artemisia, sur l'entreprise en question, sur les systèmes agricoles des régions concernées et sur les conditions climatiques, nous nous sommes rendus sur le terrain pour rencontrer les équipes de la société ainsi que des producteurs et des représentants des communautés rurales dans lesquelles ils opèrent. La société est bien implantée et est très présente auprès des producteurs avec lesquels elle collabore depuis plus de 10 ans. Nous avons passé 4 jours à visiter toutes les zones de production à l'exception de la zone marginale à l'extrême sud de l'île. Nous avons rencontré des agriculteurs relais chargés de l'encadrement rapproché des producteurs, visité des pépinières et rencontré des pépiniéristes, tenu des réunions avec des producteurs et interviewé une vingtaine d'entre eux et interviewé plusieurs responsables de Fokontani et maires de communes rurales. A l'issue de ce travail, nous avons pu évaluer les forces et faiblesses du plan de développement présenté par l'entreprise, mettre en évidence les principaux risques et faire des propositions pour limiter leurs impacts potentiels. Notamment pour réduire la dépendance du plan de développement aux aléas climatiques.

La seconde entreprise produit du sulfate de quinine à partir d'écorce de Cinchona. Ces écorces sont actuellement importées de RD Congo et l'entreprise souhaite développer une production locale autour de Fianarantsoa. Cette production doit être basée sur une plantation de type industrielle gérée directement par l'entreprise et par un réseau de petits producteurs.


La culture du quinquina est largement inconnue à Madagascar. Il y a eu une tentative d'introduction sur un site près d'Antananarivo à l'époque coloniale et la société n'en est encore qu'au début du développement de la production locale d'écorce de Cinchona.

Nous avons pu rencontrer les équipes de l'entreprise, visiter les pépinières où sont élevés les jeunes plants de Cinchona, visiter les deux zones où ont été installés les premiers essais de plantation et rencontrer plusieurs des agriculteurs qui les ont réalisés. A l'issue de quoi nous avons évalué la faisabilité du développement d'un approvisionnement local, analysé les impacts potentiels en termes de protection des sols ainsi que sur la biodiversité et émis des recommandations pour optimiser les chances de succès et limiter les impacts négatifs potentiels.